Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great recipe, really easy to make and doesn't take too long. Tastes just like the vietnamese noodles at the restaurants. Only thing was that mine didn't have as much flavor as I'd like (i like a lot), probably should've made some more sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't put in the jalapenos and mint, though, because I didn't have any, and i will leave out the cukes next time (personal preference). I'd love to figure out a way to get rid of all of the water that the cabbage releases (you'll see with leftovers) ahead of time. Maybe cut it, let it sit overnight in the fridge with a bit of vinegar, then drain before adding to the rest of the salad? I don't mind floppy cabbage myself. I don't know - I'm not a pro by any means!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. For our taste I changed a few things. I only use one clove of garlic. 5 was way to much. I also do not use jalapeno's. Instead of 3 tbs fish sauce I use 1 tsp just to add a hint of flavor. Also I use just a few leaves of mint so as not to overpower the salad. We omit the cabbage. As garnish we leave out chili garlic and peanuts to add optionally. The flavors blend over time so this is best on the 2nd day. Nice light fresh flavor for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Liked alot though changed up the sauce (not as much chilantro, etc) and will continue to change up as it was still not quite right. Also used romain lettuce instead of cabage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rosemary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I tried this recipe for the first time tonight and my whole family absolutely loved (devoured) it! I added 2 cups of chopped up BBQ pork (cha-siu) bits to the salad and served it as the main course. Vietnamese rolls for appetizers; and shrimp & snap pea stir-fry as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
The cilantro dressing is soooo good! This can totally be an entree if you add some meat to it, but it is totally fine by itself! The only thing I changed was subbed hoisin sauce and soy sauce for the vegetarian fish sauce (allergic) and omitted the cabbage. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaulandPam Folbrecht
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very tasty! I opted out of using the fish sauce, and just added a bit more salt. DH also put some hot sauce on his. We decided to eat it w/ chicken, so I skillet-cooked bits of boneless, skinless chicken breast sprinkled w/ salt, pepper, and a generous amount of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulandPam Folbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Yum yum!!! I added some satay-marinated chicken on top to make a meal in itself. It is the perfect summer dish as it requires little cooking/time in the kitchen. I recommend making a double batch of the sauce; you'll want to eat it out of the bowl! Will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is a nice light and healthy meal, and very delicious. I substituted kale for the cabbage (for a little more nutrition) and dried thai peppers for the jalapenos. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this with minor changes due to being unable to locate rice noodles today. I used some ramen-like asian noodles instead. My package was 8oz and it made 4x what I needed so I don't know if you really need 12oz of rice noodles based on the quantity of sauce. I used hoisin sauce instead of fish sauce and added 1 tbsp of rice vinegar at the end just to help blend the flavors. I chilled it and served it cold with the "Asian Salmon Cakes with Creamy Miso and Sake Sauce" recipe from this site along with some steamed baby bok choy. It was a great dinner. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States