Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
All other ingredients is right just want to confirm that in Vietnam people don't put napa cabbage (chinese cabbage) in noodle salad at all, but regular lettuce! The only cabbage salad dish in Vietnam is the one mixes with boiled shredded chicken and nuoc cham (fish sauce) that sometimes people substitute with napa cabbage. Also, we don't have jalapeno pepper in Vietnam, it's actually red chilly that have bigger size that look like a jalapeno but taste different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is a nice light and healthy meal, and very delicious. I substituted kale for the cabbage (for a little more nutrition) and dried thai peppers for the jalapenos. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Our vietnamese resturant closed and I was upset. I started looking for a good noodle bowl recipe and this one is real close. I use a drop of Chili oil instead of a jalapeno. I also use shredded lettace instead of chinese cabbage, because that how the resturant did it. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This was really good. I tweeked it with more fish sauce, sugar and topped it off with fried tofu. To save time I used a food processor for the sauce. I will definitely use this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neb123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Tastes very authentic. Good easy recipe. Instead of fish sauce, I used soya sauce. I also used the food processor to chop & combine first few ingredients. I suggest mixing together everything but noodles first, as stirring noodles is difficult -- I used my hands in the end! My hubby added shrimp to his dish, and really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Wow! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMNERD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Slinger, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We loved this and the leftovers were still great for lunch the next day! I've never cooked with fish sauce so I was worried I wouldn't like it so I only used 1 tbsp I also only used 1 tbsp of sugar. Then I was a little worried about not having enough sauce so I reduced the noodles to 8 ounces. It didn't taste too garlicky but it was a little hard on the stomach. Next time I might do 4 cloves or just not use the 5 largest ones on the bulb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was really good. I was worried it would be too garlicky, but the lime juice seemed to mellow it out quite a bit. Next time I'll probably use about half the cilantro. I substituted soy sauce for the veg. fish sauce and it was fine, but it would probably be even better with the real thing. Worthy of a summer potluck or barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PJCFolbrecht
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Very tasty! I opted out of using the fish sauce, and just added a bit more salt. DH also put some hot sauce on his. We decided to eat it w/ chicken, so I skillet-cooked bits of boneless, skinless chicken breast sprinkled w/ salt, pepper, and a generous amount of rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Wondeful! Delicious in every way. This is just like I have eaten in many Vietnamese restaurants. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States