Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
Wow! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMNERD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Slinger, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe. Perfect in summer when you don't want a hot meal. I added some grilled lemongrass beef skewers to complete the meal (I believe that with the grilled beef, this is an 'authentic' vietnamese meal). I left out the mint (don't like it) and substituted shredded iceberg lettuce for the cabbage (didn't know what napa cabbage was). Also added some shredded capsicum (what you americans call 'peppers' I think). All in all a very tasty cold noodle meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I added some hot chili sauce for a little kick... it was GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Wondeful! Delicious in every way. This is just like I have eaten in many Vietnamese restaurants. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This was really good. I tweeked it with more fish sauce, sugar and topped it off with fried tofu. To save time I used a food processor for the sauce. I will definitely use this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neb123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was really good. I was worried it would be too garlicky, but the lime juice seemed to mellow it out quite a bit. Next time I'll probably use about half the cilantro. I substituted soy sauce for the veg. fish sauce and it was fine, but it would probably be even better with the real thing. Worthy of a summer potluck or barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Tastes very authentic. Good easy recipe. Instead of fish sauce, I used soya sauce. I also used the food processor to chop & combine first few ingredients. I suggest mixing together everything but noodles first, as stirring noodles is difficult -- I used my hands in the end! My hubby added shrimp to his dish, and really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This was exactly the sort of salad I was hoping to find. I loved the fresh mint/lime/peanut combination. The only change I made was to decrease the fish sauce (because my husband hates it), which I subbed with a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
All other ingredients is right just want to confirm that in Vietnam people don't put napa cabbage (chinese cabbage) in noodle salad at all, but regular lettuce! The only cabbage salad dish in Vietnam is the one mixes with boiled shredded chicken and nuoc cham (fish sauce) that sometimes people substitute with napa cabbage. Also, we don't have jalapeno pepper in Vietnam, it's actually red chilly that have bigger size that look like a jalapeno but taste different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I omitted the jalapeno as I don't care for them, and used cashews instead of peanuts as that's what I had on hand. This was pretty good, but I didn't like the rice noodles at all - the texture was a little slimey and unpleasant. If I were to make it again, I would use angel hair pasta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States