Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this with minor changes due to being unable to locate rice noodles today. I used some ramen-like asian noodles instead. My package was 8oz and it made 4x what I needed so I don't know if you really need 12oz of rice noodles based on the quantity of sauce. I used hoisin sauce instead of fish sauce and added 1 tbsp of rice vinegar at the end just to help blend the flavors. I chilled it and served it cold with the "Asian Salmon Cakes with Creamy Miso and Sake Sauce" recipe from this site along with some steamed baby bok choy. It was a great dinner. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Our vietnamese resturant closed and I was upset. I started looking for a good noodle bowl recipe and this one is real close. I use a drop of Chili oil instead of a jalapeno. I also use shredded lettace instead of chinese cabbage, because that how the resturant did it. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Wonderful Salade even with out the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancoAmerican

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I thought this was quite good but could have used a bit more dressing. I used 2 red chili padis instead of jalapeno (jalapenos aren't Vietnamese!) and put the cabbage in with the noodles to cook. Also reduced the fish sauce to 2 tbsp and sugar to 1 tbsp. It was missing something...not sure what...but still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I omitted the jalapeno as I don't care for them, and used cashews instead of peanuts as that's what I had on hand. This was pretty good, but I didn't like the rice noodles at all - the texture was a little slimey and unpleasant. If I were to make it again, I would use angel hair pasta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
All other ingredients is right just want to confirm that in Vietnam people don't put napa cabbage (chinese cabbage) in noodle salad at all, but regular lettuce! The only cabbage salad dish in Vietnam is the one mixes with boiled shredded chicken and nuoc cham (fish sauce) that sometimes people substitute with napa cabbage. Also, we don't have jalapeno pepper in Vietnam, it's actually red chilly that have bigger size that look like a jalapeno but taste different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This was exactly the sort of salad I was hoping to find. I loved the fresh mint/lime/peanut combination. The only change I made was to decrease the fish sauce (because my husband hates it), which I subbed with a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Tastes very authentic. Good easy recipe. Instead of fish sauce, I used soya sauce. I also used the food processor to chop & combine first few ingredients. I suggest mixing together everything but noodles first, as stirring noodles is difficult -- I used my hands in the end! My hubby added shrimp to his dish, and really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This was really good. I was worried it would be too garlicky, but the lime juice seemed to mellow it out quite a bit. Next time I'll probably use about half the cilantro. I substituted soy sauce for the veg. fish sauce and it was fine, but it would probably be even better with the real thing. Worthy of a summer potluck or barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This was really good. I tweeked it with more fish sauce, sugar and topped it off with fried tofu. To save time I used a food processor for the sauce. I will definitely use this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neb123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States