Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The garlic was overpowering and it had an unpleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Oh I really didn't like it. I made extra sauce and I felt like it still needed more. The flavor was okay. It called for a whole lot of noodles which I thought was way too much. Not close enough to the restaurant style I was looking for but not gross enough for me not to finish (well eat until I was full).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is very good! It's really easy and very light. Perfect summer side dish. Everyone was going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This salad was wonderful, followed recipe exactly and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIELB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Very tasty -- definitely got the Vietnamese flavor. I think the carrots would be better sauteed along with the garlic, but, I haven't tried that yet. Also, be careful on how much pasta you make! You can easily overwhelm the amount of sauce made. I will make it again, but with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I LOVE this dish! It's one I discovered at a Vietnamese French Bakery/Cafe in Bellingham, WA years ago and it's taken me a long time to find a recipe for it because I didn't know what it was called. I sometimes make it with Kelp noodles which are practically zero carbs and zero calories. You could also make it with shiratake tofu noodles for the same low-carb/low calorie dish. I always put some satay chicken in it for a complete meal! The only change I make is to add some water to the sauce to make it less "fishy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Really good! I like to add roasted red beef or pork to make it even more authentic, like the ones I get from vietnamese restaurants or asian shops. I use packaged shredded lettuce for ease. The sauce makes this kind of recipe and the only thing I don't like much is the sauce in this recipe so I used a similar sauce from the Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls recipe instead---perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great recipe, really easy to make and doesn't take too long. Tastes just like the vietnamese noodles at the restaurants. Only thing was that mine didn't have as much flavor as I'd like (i like a lot), probably should've made some more sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. I didn't put in the jalapenos and mint, though, because I didn't have any, and i will leave out the cukes next time (personal preference). I'd love to figure out a way to get rid of all of the water that the cabbage releases (you'll see with leftovers) ahead of time. Maybe cut it, let it sit overnight in the fridge with a bit of vinegar, then drain before adding to the rest of the salad? I don't mind floppy cabbage myself. I don't know - I'm not a pro by any means!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is a great recipe. For our taste I changed a few things. I only use one clove of garlic. 5 was way to much. I also do not use jalapeno's. Instead of 3 tbs fish sauce I use 1 tsp just to add a hint of flavor. Also I use just a few leaves of mint so as not to overpower the salad. We omit the cabbage. As garnish we leave out chili garlic and peanuts to add optionally. The flavors blend over time so this is best on the 2nd day. Nice light fresh flavor for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States