Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Absolutely loved it with my changes. Recipe serves 2 not 4 (provides generous amount of dressing). 3 garlic cloves. No jalapeno; use 1/2 to 1 tsp (to taste) Sriracha sauce. Use 3 TBSP fish sauce as directed for authentic flavor. 1 TBSP sugar. FRESH squeezed lime as directed. Add 1 tsp hoisin sauce to dressing. Peel and remove seeds from 1/2 cucumber; julienne into 1 1/2" strips. Remove center of 8 small-medium sized napa cabbage leaves and julienne. Use 2 servings soba noodles-2 oz dry (healthier and better texture). Mix carrots (use salad shooter/food processor on two small carrots), cilantro into dressing but not cucumber, mint or napa. Place cooled soba noodles into dressing and let sit 5 minutes. Place napa in bottom of each individual bowl. Add noodles, using tongs so dressing remains. Layer with cucumber and mint. Pour remaining dressing into bowls. Add chicken (or shrimp or tofu or beef): saute chicken thighs in canola oil with 1 TBSP peanut butter, 1 tsp soy sauce, 1 tsp grated ginger, 1/2 tsp sesame oil; cook thoroughly; slice into thin strips and place on top of bowls. This is a full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Good flavor but it needs to be eaten right away. The noodles dry out and get hard quickly in the fridge. After reading reviews I decided to cut the garlic in half but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did have to sub bok choy leaves for the napa cabbage due to availability at my grocery store. If I were to make this again I think I'd use a different kind of noodle, such as soba, a spicier chili pepper (like a Thai pepper) add some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Lovely fresh salad, I used soy instead of fish sauce and a little more lemon juice, I also minced the mint into the dressing and added lettuce not cabbage, A nice light fresh salad on a summers day, good with grilled chicken or shrimp added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious flavor, just like the vermicelli bowl from our local Vietnamese restaurant. I subbed soy sauce for fish sauce and added grilled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! I used chopped romaine and kale instead of cabbage and added crushed red pepper because our jalapeño wasn't hot. We took the suggestion from another review and used our hands to mix all the ingredients for only two servings in one large bowl. That way the left over lettuce wouldn't be soggy for tomorrow. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Light refreshing salad. You can add any different kind of vegetables that you have at hand. Snow peas are especially good and so is asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
you might want to use less noodles, makes a lot! and hard to mix, but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I was really excited about this recipe as I've never cooked with rice noodles OR fish sauce before. Well, turns out the fish sauce was just tooooo fishy for my taste but since I was making this for someone else's dinner, I had to make it work. So I added lemon pepper and chopped fresh basil, and it really added the right amount of zing and countered the fish taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I really liked this salad, it was just different from the regular summer pasta salad I would normally make for BBQ's or picnics. I added a bit more sugar, used lettuce as opposed to cabbage and added some snap peas. It was a huge hit, and I think I have already handed out the recipe a half a dozen times. Worth trying forsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good and authentic taste. I have made twice and second time added 1/4c of water to the sauce and decreased the garlic to 4 cloves (and I LOVE garlic, but it was just too strong). I used normal fish sauce and bbq'd some chicken breast which I sliced and served with. Big hit with the whole family who all love Vietnemese noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States