Vietnamese Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by handbanana
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These were really good but I had to modify the recipe. Halfway through I realized there was a lot of liquid so I eliminated the oil and the fish sauce. At this point I added 1/4 cup of plain breadcrumbs and the consistency was perfect. Then I realized I forgot to add the egg white so I added only 1/2 of an egg white and it was way too wet. It took another 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs to thicken it back to normal. I cooked it on a parchment lined cookie sheet on 350 for 30-35 minutes (can't remember exactly how long I set the timer for but you can tell when you smell them that they are done.) I made them in walnut sized balls and got 23 balls out of 1 package of ground chicken. I like the flavor and will make again. I also liked adding the breadcrumbs too and it didn't detract from the flavor. My husband dipped his in sweet chili sauce and I added mine to a soba (buckwheat) noodle bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I agree with other reviewers - this is way too wet. I have no idea how you'd put it on skewers. An ingredient was left out for binding (oatmeal, bread crumbs, etc) or the directions are incorrect (heat to make the corn starch thicken?). On a 1 lb recipe, I had to add 1/2 cup of quick oats and 1/4 cup of panko bread crumbs to even come close to making a meatball. I served them with peanut sauce (a combo of recipes from here). They were really good - after the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Good recipe, I added a couple extras: chopped green onion and bread crumbs, as it was very wet. I cooked the meatballs on cookie sheets and omitted the skewers. Served on rice, add peanut sauce or other sauces to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These are just fantastic - great as meatballs but even better as filling for dumplings! Throw one piece of bread in the mixture if you are making meatballs. So so so great. Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Too wet for skewers, but I baked at 350 fot 30-40 minutes. Added onions, more fish sauce, and msg, and used rice vineagar instead of rice wine. Next time, I will cover them for most of the cooking time to prevent the outside from drying up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These are really good with some modifications. I too think they're too wet, so I just added some cracker crumbs. I didn't have fish sauce so I used oyster sauce, and it was great! I make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I love these meatballs! Ive made them a few times and serve them with a noodle and veggie stir fry. Easy, different and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
No fish sauce, but that didn't hurt. Made them walnut sized and nuked them, then dipped in hot sauce. Also heated leftovers in chicken broth along with assorted veggies to make a complete meal. Versatile with subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Way too wet. Added bread crumbs and it just tasted like rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Yup, way too wet (I even omitted the Worcestershire sauce, and halved the rice wine). The flavor was lacking, and I didn't like the texture. Not a hit in our house. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States