Vietnamese Lemon Grass Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Pretty darn good! I added about 3 Tbsp brown sugar and half a cup of golden raisins to simmer with the chicken. Served it over jasmine rice….clean pan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This was delicious! Made it for some very picky teenagers because I had all of the ingredients and it was a HIT! Read the owner's warning and made the correction. Again, DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth Kolloen
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Saw lemongrass in the store, wanted to make something with it, found this recipe on the AR app and made it that night. Soooo good. Loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was absolutly delicious! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also took your suggestion to use a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar to carmelize the glaze. I served it with chopped peanuts and cilantro for garnish and it was ONO! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Mommy From Seattle! Love this dish! And my husband who is Vietnamese-Chinese thought I would never be able to make a Vietnamese dish. He was enthusiastically impressed and wants me to make the dish again! But I'd like to impress him with my new culinary skills. Would you please post other dishes using lemon grass. Thank you! Spicy Thai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My family (including my 5 and 7 yr olds) Loved this recipe. I did make sure to read the owners warning about the error with the fish sauce amount and it all turned out fantastic. I served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Use fish sauce made in Thailand the others are way to salty. White sugar cuts the salt taste. The barnd I use is Tiparos (fish sauce) If you like the taste of fish sauce I suggest adding a 1/4 cup of sugar the cut the salt. This is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I've also found this dish to be extraordinarily salty with the amount of fish sauce recommended. It was inedible until I added a bit of vinegar and brown sugar. I would imagine it is a delicious recipe if you use the fish sauce sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Sounded good, but WAY too much fish sauce! I did it as written and it was like eating salt. I think maybe 1 tbsp would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I'm the recipe owner the the ingredient list was printed wrong. ONLY use about 1-3 tablespoons Fish Sauce - NOT 1/4 cup. Measure based on your personal preference. You can also use boneless/skinless chicken thighs for this. I forgot to put in the ingredient list to add a few pinches of brown sugar. It rounds out the flavor wonderfully. *Dark meat is the usual choice for this traditional dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States