Vietnamese Golden Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
These wings were the best that I have had or made. After reading a lot of the reviews I made several slight changes to the original recipe. I used low sodium soy sauce instead of the regular soy sauce. I omitted the teaspoon of salt and increased temperature to 425 degrees. I made two trays of the wings doubling the original recipe. Two teenagers and four adults were looking for more wings. This recipe is a keeper! Sammamish Guy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridgecarts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was a bit too salty for my taste, even without adding the extra tsp of unnecessary salt. I actually used three large boneless chicken breasts, cut into 3-4 pieces each, instead of wings. I also added some pineapple chunks during the last 15 minutes of cooking, so the saltiness was cut with something sweet, but the result was still just okay. I doubt I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this yesterday for a party. They are very good. I did take the advice of another reviewer and add another 10 min to the cooking time (and increase the cooking temp for those last 10 min to 450 degrees). While they turned more golden and we're still very juicy they weren't crispy. Broiling them for a short time may do the trick for that. I made the recipe with ingredients, as is (except I did use low-sodium soy sauce since that was what I had on hand) and didn't think it was too salty. I did marinate it in a freezer bag for 24 hours flipping the bag every few hours. Great Asian flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Doyle Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My daughter had to make a recipe as part of her book review project at school. We chose this one and it was a hit. The high-school kids loved as well as our own family. I have since made it for parties and it is a hit with our friends as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Luikart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
i got this cooking for our dinner tonight and we have made it before and it is always a fav. soooo very good. tysm for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was fantastic! I added a little Sriracha to my marinade, then added an additional 10 minutes of cooking time at 450.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Overall the underlying flavor was good, but this chicken was WAY too salty. If you try this one OMIT the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Made these for our Book Club this past week. It was a HUGE hit. I tweaked it a bit by using Low Sodium Soy Sauce since Fish Sauce tends to be salty anyway. I also added about 1 tbsl. of fresh chopped ginger. After cooking in the oven, I put it on broil to crisp them a bit, sprinkled them with chopped cilantro and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It turned out a bit too salty, so I had to add some sugar. I don't know why mines wasn't crispy, even though I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
30 minutes wasnt' enough time to cook them. Took an hour for the crispy effect. But still good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States