Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
These are easy, fun and can be made ahead and frozen. Take to room temp before deep frying. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
Delicious! Tastes just like my favorite Thai resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
These were a big hit at a neighborhood party. Very fresh & everyone favorably commented they weren't deep-fried. Suggest making sure all ingredients are dry; too much water (noodles) can leave rolls soggy. Suggest 30 min refrigeration. LOVED the 1st sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Wonderful recipe! It is so light and fresh! You usually see the spring rolls fried and it's so much nicer this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Finally! I was trying to make these by 'memory' from the ones I have at the Vietnamese restaurants, but they kept falling apart! Dipping the rice paper one at a time was the trick! These are so easy and inexpensive to make. I usually use a satay sauce, though...I make it by mixing peanut butter, hoisin sauce, a dash of soy sauce and a little broth for consistency (or onion and garlic powders and water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I've had a vietnamese dish named buns (boons). Anyway, since then I've remembered the ingredients but didn't know how to make the fish sauce (named nuoc mam). I found a recipe but when I made it, it didn't taste anything like the restaurant. So, I decided that was the best I could do, then decided to see if I could do spring rolls. I got your recipe and saw the fish sauce and couldn't believe it. I've looked all over this web site for it. Anyway, I made it and it was just like the one I'd eaten before. I poured the other out. I didn't have all the ingredients for the spring rolls, although I will soon. I'm just glad I looked for them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
These were great. I used grilled pork instead of shrimp (b/c its what i had). Also, I tried both dipping sauces and they were excellent! I did add a bit more chili sauce, though, as we found it not spicy enough. Thanks Paula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This is an excellent recipe. I served it at a ladies cocktail party and it was a huge hit. I didn't care for the two sauces alone. I found that by mixing two parts of the hoisen/peanut sauce to approximately 1 part of the fish/lime sauce I got a dipping sauce that I preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
EXCELLENT!!! I love Vietnamese spring rolls and was so happy to find the recipe. Tastes just like my favorite restaurant's spring rolls. Easy to make, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
Sooo good! There's something about the combination of fresh herbs with the noodles and shrimp that made this divine. This tastes just like the spring rolls I order at my favourite Vietnamese restaurant (maybe even a little better!). It's so refreshing and the perfect accompaniment to a summer meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States