Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
These are easy, fun and can be made ahead and frozen. Take to room temp before deep frying. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This is an excellent recipe. I served it at a ladies cocktail party and it was a huge hit. I didn't care for the two sauces alone. I found that by mixing two parts of the hoisen/peanut sauce to approximately 1 part of the fish/lime sauce I got a dipping sauce that I preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
Delicious! Tastes just like my favorite Thai resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
These were a big hit at a neighborhood party. Very fresh & everyone favorably commented they weren't deep-fried. Suggest making sure all ingredients are dry; too much water (noodles) can leave rolls soggy. Suggest 30 min refrigeration. LOVED the 1st sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
Finally! I was trying to make these by 'memory' from the ones I have at the Vietnamese restaurants, but they kept falling apart! Dipping the rice paper one at a time was the trick! These are so easy and inexpensive to make. I usually use a satay sauce, though...I make it by mixing peanut butter, hoisin sauce, a dash of soy sauce and a little broth for consistency (or onion and garlic powders and water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I've had a vietnamese dish named buns (boons). Anyway, since then I've remembered the ingredients but didn't know how to make the fish sauce (named nuoc mam). I found a recipe but when I made it, it didn't taste anything like the restaurant. So, I decided that was the best I could do, then decided to see if I could do spring rolls. I got your recipe and saw the fish sauce and couldn't believe it. I've looked all over this web site for it. Anyway, I made it and it was just like the one I'd eaten before. I poured the other out. I didn't have all the ingredients for the spring rolls, although I will soon. I'm just glad I looked for them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Well worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I used egg rolls and fried them instead of spring rolls because I could not find them in the grocery store. The fresh herbs were wonderful in the roll, and the recipie for the fish sauce dipping sauce was incredible. Highly recomment the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I was intimidated to make these, but tried, and was impressed with how easy they really are. I added seedless matchstick sliced cucumber, more shrimp, and reg. basil. Great, but something was missing.....not quite like the restaurant quality i hoped for. Any suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I love these rice paper rolls. At my local Vietnamese restaurant they are called "Fun Rolls" because the fresh ingredients, dipping sauce, rice paper and a bowl of hot water are brought out to your table and you wrap them yourself! I prefer them with a lighter dipping sauce made with 1/4 cup of water, 2 tablespoons fish sauce, 1 tablespoon lime juice, 1 tablespoon sugar and a touch of fresh crushed garlic; divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States