Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I believe you are missing a few things, but it's ok overall. Carrot or jicama or even daikon for crunch is much needed in your recipe. I would double the shrimp in your rolls, so every bite has some shrimp in it. Also, your hoisin based sauce is the more appropriate one, but you should add some peanut butter and water to it, to give it better depth of flavor. The hoisin by itself can be a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have been very fortunate to have lived with a Vietnamese family for a year and then my sister married a Vietnamese gentleman. Vietnamese food is awesome and Spring Rolls are my favorite! Every Vietnamese shop has a different take and their own 'secret' ingredient when I visit cities. This recipe is very authentic, but as every Italian has their own 'perfect' sauce, every Vietnamese mother has her own 'perfect' recipe for Spring Rolls. It's time consuming but worth every minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
OMG - these are called Nime Chow at all the Asian restaurants here in RI and they're one of my absolute favorites! Perfect for a hot summer night. This is a delicious recipe and it's pretty darned close to the recipe from my favorite Thai/Vietnamese/Chinese place...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
perfection on a hot summer day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I don't know if I should credit the original recipe, however I found the SAUCE recipe from one of the reviews and it was a great sauce. 1 part peanut butter to 2 parts hoisin sauce, mix over low heat, thin it out with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I had a hard time getting these on the serving plate because I kept putting them in my mouth instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My mom and I always go to a local, family owned Vietnamese resturant and get spring rolls and have always talked about thrying to make them and with this recipes help, we were able to! They turned out great! The more Thia Basil the better!! I also added sprout to them to copy the resturant, Vien Dons, style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ives11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These were amazing! I love the homemade sauce. I put much more lime juice in it, and made the garlic chili sauce from scratch, as well as the hoisin sauce, since I will be moving soon and didn't want to buy huge jars of either. I added more mint, basil and cilantro than the recipe called for as well, and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were very good. The only change I made was leaving the mint out and left the shrimp whole. They need to be eating the day you make them. The ones I had left over did not save well. Both sauces were very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. I had problems with rolling and ended up using two wrappers for a couple. I am going to try to use a bambo sushi roll mat next time and see if that helps. Do not oversoak the wrapper, only a second in water and that should be enough. It softens as you work with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States