Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Better than I get at most vietnamese restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I make these often, sometimes I add baked tofu or veggie meats so we can make a meal out of them. I like to juliene my vegetables and jicama. You can put just about anything in the wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These are awesome! I used chicken breast cut into long strips. The added cucumber and carrots make it really yummy. I like them short, fat and tight. The fatter it is and shorter it is, I have found that it is easy to keep it really tight as you roll them. I don't like a long, floppy & loose roll! One tip for the wrappers: add hot water to a pie pan and then dip each individual wrapper in the water for a few seconds. It's a good way to get it wet but not too wet. I can't wait to make these again! I see lots of potential to try new combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
It might not be fair to rate this given that I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but the end result was great. I used a store-bought thai peanut sauce for convenience, and added to the inside of the roll so these would be easy to take to lunch. I used half a pound of shrimp, split lengthwise and layered across the wrapper. I stored them in a plastic container with a barely damp paper towel on the bottom. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Really good and easy. Makes good party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These are beyond amazing... I was SO nervous to try them and have had a really difficult time finding rice paper. For those of you who are novice kitchenistas like myself, they are not in the refrigerated section! They come in a stack of squares, similar to a stiff paper. My husband and I went to an asian food store to find them and I almost missed them!! The clerk didn't understand what I was looking for, and I was so happy to stumble upon them on my way out! Also, I was lucky enough to meet a seasoned expert at the asian food store and almost bought the wrong fish sauce. According to your taste, some are much more anchovy friendly, and smell substantially worse. I am SO glad I asked the gal in front of me... she helped me pick a different one, and the sauce did not smell fishy at all (I HATE the smell of fish). "Tiparos" was the fish sauce the nice lady recommended FYI :-) Also, I was confused on how to wrap the rolls... The rice paper called "Three Ladies Brand" has a diagram on the back on how to do it, and by the fourth roll, they looked just like the rolls I order at my favorite restaurant. Last, I love peanut sauce, and decided to look for another recipe. Found a really easy and absolutely amazing recipe! Just Hoisin Sauce, Crunchy Peanut Butter... Microwave for 45 seconds, then add water to make it creamy. I could have licked the bowl!! Enjoy! I will be making them again next week :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Easy and fabulous! I don't know why they said these take 50 minutes. They are acctually very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
These were so good! I've always loved them in resturaunts, but assumed they were difficult to make. Now I know they aren't! I did use pre-cooked shrimp and dipping sauce from a jar, but used the best quality that I could find. This made it a quick and easy, fresh treat. My husband didn't like the mint, but they'd still be great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
yummy, Yummy, YUMMY! I loved this recipe and it was so easy to follow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZenCity
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I didn’t use the fish sauce and I made my own dipping sauce. Great recipe. Not difficult. It takes a little practice to get the rolling down. The great thing about this is that you can add any of your favorite items to the spring roll. We love to use our Thai basil from our garden and load up the roll with that, fresh mint, a bit of spring salad mix, some matchstick carrots and thinly sliced red pepper. As you eat it, you feel like you are eating something good for you. I made extra so we can have it on hand as a quick and healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States