Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was great! I'm so excited to know how to make these myself! I did add cucumber strips, shredded carrots, and bean sprouts. I didn't have basil or lettuce handy, but these made a decent small meal for my husband and me. Will probably taste even better with the Thai basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
sticky but yum, did my own fillings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
we used this as a base for spring rolls as we've never made them before.. didnt use the thai basil or mint leaves.. just the shrimp, vermicelli, lettuce, cilantro and added some carrot slices.. as for the first sauce.. we didn't thin it out with water.. loved the pungency of it.. ty for our first try at spring rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Not overly difficult, but the clear sauce simply lacked any noticeable flavor. I think that the quarter cup of water may have diluted the flavor. The actual rolls were surprisingly easy...after botching the first three...but the only saving grace to this was the hoisin sauce and peanut dip. The clear dipping sauce bombed. Flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
tasty, fresh...just like they serve in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Just like the restaurant, except I need to work on rolling! I made the sauce differently as others recommended - 1/3 cup crunchy peanut butter, 2/3 cup hoisin sauce, 2 cloves garlic, juice of 1 lime and prob. about 1/2 cup of water to thin out. I also added julienne carrot and cucumber as suggested, and didn't use Thai basil, as I didn't want to bother looking for it. I doubled the recipe and the fam gobbled them down. Another great dinner for hot days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great basic recipe. I often incorporate variations like using browned tofu in place of the shrimp or skipping one or two of the herbs if I don't have them on hand and they always come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I live in Hawaii and have eaten these from several different places, so I know what I like and what it should taste like. This was good, I omitted the fish sauce, (too salty), the ingredients, which included, the noodles, lettuce, julienned carrots and japanese cucumbers, a dash of hoisin sauce (or sauce of your liking), topped with a little more noodles. Just remember to put your shrimp, then your mint leaves on top of shrimp first so they look beautiful after you've wrapped them. I made the peanut sauce I got from the food network site. (Peanut dipping sauce needs to be experimented with). Many of the friends that ate it liked it without sauce. Yay!! I did it! Thanks for your recipe, I wasn't sure of the type of wrapper (the name) or the type of rice noodles to use and you took the guesswork out of it. I feel like an expert now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Tastes like what you get at restaurants! Forgot the lettuce and added shredded carrots. Only made hoisin dipping sauce. Took a little practice to assemble but fairly easy once you get the hang of it . FYI rice vermicelli was called cellophane noodles at my grocery store. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love Vietnamese rolls! I usually use cucumbers as my base instead of vermicelli and have never used basil, but this is delicious. Good sauces too--a nice change from the sweet chili sauce I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States