Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Simple. Fresh. Tasty. What more could you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I used broccoli slaw made by Dole along with the shrimp, mint and cilantro. Taste was wonderful and they were so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Irecommend this recipe with mango and red pepper,delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very easy recipe and so yummy! I made these for my boyfriend and he said they were the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Theses were absolutely wonderful! They were better than the ones from my favorite restaurants. I made no modifications. The dipping sauces were wonderful too. Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I have made this recipe a few times now and it is superb! Be sure not to overcook the vermicelli. If very thin my mother taught me to drop in boiling water, immediately after 2-3 minutes (extra minute if thicker) quickly drain and rinse in cold water. This will yield vermicelli that will not be sticky and a little bite. I made one other substitution which is to use Red leaf lettuce. I clean it and remove the ribs from the lettuce. I get rave reviews each time I make these, people asking for my version of the recipe. The fish sauce recipe provided is really good and authentic. You can halve it though, I feel I have a lot left over for a recipe this size. I made these recently for a friend who couldn't have gluten, and used the San-J Thai peanut sauce for dipping instead of hoisin sauce, and it was a very good substitute to make this recipe completely gluten free. Two meat variations: I've made this recipe pan frying chicken breast strips marinated with San-J Asian BBQ sauce (gluten free), and another time with pork strips marinated/sprinkled with Chinese Five Spice powder then pan-fry. These pair well with the fish sauce dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I love this recipe, they taste delicious and are fun to make. The only change I made was to the spicy sauce because I personally don't like fish sauce so I only added a very small amount of it. I also like you can change it up and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Fabulous recipe (more of a method then a recipe). I didn't follow the directions for vermicelli preparation, rather I let them soak in boiled water for about 10 minutes and they came out nicely. Added cucumber & carrots to the roll and I highly recommend everyone does that too. The fish sauce was terrific, for hoisin sauce, I used Kats11 recipe of PB & hoisin, thinned out with water. I put the soaked wrapper on wet paper towel so it didn't stick to anything. The first roll didn't come out good but once I got the hang of quick rolling - it was a snap. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I used cellophane (mung bean) noodles rather than rice noodles. Substituted julienned sticks of imitation crab for shrimp. Next time I would probably either cut back on the mint or substitute another herb. Added julienned carrot and cucumber. Served with a spicy peanut sauce for dipping. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. I like to add a little more mint and cilantro, love this fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy L Roussell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States