Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I added some shredded carrot but otherwise kept the rolls the same. I used chunky peanut butter in place of the peanuts in the sauce (as others have mentioned) And I liked the fish sauce dip as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this recipe for a large party and it was a hit. I did make adjustments though, I left out the mint and had no basil so it was just cilantro for herbs. I also added carrots and cucumber. I made the fish sauce and thought it was great (I haven't had these before so I don't know whats "right". I liked the fish sauce with the rolls. I also followed the other peanut sauce...2 parts hoisin to 1 part PB and I added some lime juice and garlic chili sauce to it. Will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My family is laotian we make this all the time we also put thin slice white pork strings and also dip in peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is yummy with peanut sauce for deeping. But it is called Rice wrap and Spring roll is the deep fry roll one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I would make it without the mint in the future. Sauces are okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne M Kevis Devereux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this for my daughter and I and we couldn't stop eating them. Lovedboth sauces for dipping. My daughter doesn't stop asking for them. Will be making them again, since we love them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
For a beginner it was simple and refreshing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These are fantastic and simple, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These taste EXACTLY like the ones I order from the restaurants. I've made them a couple times a week for the past month... my mom LOVES them! The first time I made them, I found Thai basil at an Asian grocery store but all the times after that, I bought regular basil from any grocery store and it worked just fine. Adding extra cilantro doesn't quite give it the same flavor so for them to taste more authentic, be sure to use regular basil. I also added shredded carrots and julienned cucumber for added color and crunch. One additional hint as to rolling them up: with the lettuce on the far side, fold up the side closest to you over the ingredients, then fold both the uncovered sides towards the center. Lastly, using the lettuce to hold everything steady, continue rolling the spring roll up towards the top of the wrapper and voila... perfectly rolled spring rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The recipe was a great! I couldn't find the thai basil and DID NOT include the mint. I made it with the mint/cilantro and the mint was overpowering. I made the remaining wraps with the only cilantro. I used other reviews and excluded the lettuce. Instead I used carrots, beansprouts, cucumber, and celery. I made my sauce with 1/4 cup of soy sauce, honey, and rice wine vinegar. I made a few the day before but I wasn't able to use them because the outside dried out. Best if made the same day. The next time I make them, I will probably cook the rice vermicelli in a vegetable or chicken broth to add an additional layer of flavor. My guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States