Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe, I added Alvarado in mine and did not use cilantro. Everyone loved them and they were gone in minutes with request to make more. These will definitely make an appearance to the weekly dinner menu. For the dips, I also served a sweet Thai chili sauce for options. Simple, fresh and so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was so simple my five year old was able to assemble the rolls with just a little guidance! It was healthful and yummy with a few additions. I followed the advice of reviewer Kats11 and made a sauce of 1 part peanut butter to two parts Hoisin. I ended up sprinkling a tiny bit of Stevia in it to be sure my kids would eat it. Turned out they liked the rolls without a dipping sauce, but my husband and I loved them with. My husband insists the addition of Siracha makes everything better! Added julienne carrots too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was great! I'm so excited to know how to make these myself! I did add cucumber strips, shredded carrots, and bean sprouts. I didn't have basil or lettuce handy, but these made a decent small meal for my husband and me. Will probably taste even better with the Thai basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
sticky but yum, did my own fillings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
we used this as a base for spring rolls as we've never made them before.. didnt use the thai basil or mint leaves.. just the shrimp, vermicelli, lettuce, cilantro and added some carrot slices.. as for the first sauce.. we didn't thin it out with water.. loved the pungency of it.. ty for our first try at spring rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Not overly difficult, but the clear sauce simply lacked any noticeable flavor. I think that the quarter cup of water may have diluted the flavor. The actual rolls were surprisingly easy...after botching the first three...but the only saving grace to this was the hoisin sauce and peanut dip. The clear dipping sauce bombed. Flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
tasty, fresh...just like they serve in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Just like the restaurant, except I need to work on rolling! I made the sauce differently as others recommended - 1/3 cup crunchy peanut butter, 2/3 cup hoisin sauce, 2 cloves garlic, juice of 1 lime and prob. about 1/2 cup of water to thin out. I also added julienne carrot and cucumber as suggested, and didn't use Thai basil, as I didn't want to bother looking for it. I doubled the recipe and the fam gobbled them down. Another great dinner for hot days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great basic recipe. I often incorporate variations like using browned tofu in place of the shrimp or skipping one or two of the herbs if I don't have them on hand and they always come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I live in Hawaii and have eaten these from several different places, so I know what I like and what it should taste like. This was good, I omitted the fish sauce, (too salty), the ingredients, which included, the noodles, lettuce, julienned carrots and japanese cucumbers, a dash of hoisin sauce (or sauce of your liking), topped with a little more noodles. Just remember to put your shrimp, then your mint leaves on top of shrimp first so they look beautiful after you've wrapped them. I made the peanut sauce I got from the food network site. (Peanut dipping sauce needs to be experimented with). Many of the friends that ate it liked it without sauce. Yay!! I did it! Thanks for your recipe, I wasn't sure of the type of wrapper (the name) or the type of rice noodles to use and you took the guesswork out of it. I feel like an expert now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States