Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These taste EXACTLY like the ones I order from the restaurants. I've made them a couple times a week for the past month... my mom LOVES them! The first time I made them, I found Thai basil at an Asian grocery store but all the times after that, I bought regular basil from any grocery store and it worked just fine. Adding extra cilantro doesn't quite give it the same flavor so for them to taste more authentic, be sure to use regular basil. I also added shredded carrots and julienned cucumber for added color and crunch. One additional hint as to rolling them up: with the lettuce on the far side, fold up the side closest to you over the ingredients, then fold both the uncovered sides towards the center. Lastly, using the lettuce to hold everything steady, continue rolling the spring roll up towards the top of the wrapper and voila... perfectly rolled spring rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
The recipe was a great! I couldn't find the thai basil and DID NOT include the mint. I made it with the mint/cilantro and the mint was overpowering. I made the remaining wraps with the only cilantro. I used other reviews and excluded the lettuce. Instead I used carrots, beansprouts, cucumber, and celery. I made my sauce with 1/4 cup of soy sauce, honey, and rice wine vinegar. I made a few the day before but I wasn't able to use them because the outside dried out. Best if made the same day. The next time I make them, I will probably cook the rice vermicelli in a vegetable or chicken broth to add an additional layer of flavor. My guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These were tasty. Especially since I cooked the shrimp on the BBQ. A bit time consuming to prep and assemble so I haven't made them since. Pretty good for family time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilani13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Very good...I did make a couple of modifications...added some thinly sliced pork and carrots...and peanut sauce makes it perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
very good followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iGreenSodaPop
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Warning: Don't put these on a paper plate! I learned the hard way that the wrapper sticks to it and they rip open when you pick them to eat! Don't let the wet wrappers touch each either! I made this today and it was good, but bland. While it was easy to make, it was time consuming to put it together. I added cucumbers and carrots. I used regular basil since I couldn't find the Thai variety. It was really good looking, but my only qualm is that it needs more flavor in the noodles. The sauces were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This tasted just like our favorite Vietnamese resteraunt. I also added carrots and cucumber for crunch. I used regular basil but think the thai basil has a much better flavorWe had a few issues with the rice paper wrapper but figured it out. It was a fun family dinner. The sauce with crunchy peanut butter and hoisin sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe, I added Alvarado in mine and did not use cilantro. Everyone loved them and they were gone in minutes with request to make more. These will definitely make an appearance to the weekly dinner menu. For the dips, I also served a sweet Thai chili sauce for options. Simple, fresh and so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was so simple my five year old was able to assemble the rolls with just a little guidance! It was healthful and yummy with a few additions. I followed the advice of reviewer Kats11 and made a sauce of 1 part peanut butter to two parts Hoisin. I ended up sprinkling a tiny bit of Stevia in it to be sure my kids would eat it. Turned out they liked the rolls without a dipping sauce, but my husband and I loved them with. My husband insists the addition of Siracha makes everything better! Added julienne carrots too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was great! I'm so excited to know how to make these myself! I did add cucumber strips, shredded carrots, and bean sprouts. I didn't have basil or lettuce handy, but these made a decent small meal for my husband and me. Will probably taste even better with the Thai basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States