Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I had these at a farmer's market in Appleton, WI. The ones I made at home, following this recipe turned out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigonation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Yum! I had no time or energy for shrimp, so I subbed in some rare roast beef from the deli counter, doused in soy sauce. Delicious and way easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
sooo good! i'm not a fan of mint so i left that out and i couldnt find any thai basil but love cilantro so i threw in extra and i also added sprouts. again... sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Love, love, love! I've been paying $4 for 2 little spring rolls at my favorite Vietnamese restaurant, now I can make them myself for a fraction of the cost and they are DELICIOUS! Thank you for submitting this wonderful recipe...now if I can just learn to wrap my rolls a bit more tightly! :c)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I believe you are missing a few things, but it's ok overall. Carrot or jicama or even daikon for crunch is much needed in your recipe. I would double the shrimp in your rolls, so every bite has some shrimp in it. Also, your hoisin based sauce is the more appropriate one, but you should add some peanut butter and water to it, to give it better depth of flavor. The hoisin by itself can be a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have been very fortunate to have lived with a Vietnamese family for a year and then my sister married a Vietnamese gentleman. Vietnamese food is awesome and Spring Rolls are my favorite! Every Vietnamese shop has a different take and their own 'secret' ingredient when I visit cities. This recipe is very authentic, but as every Italian has their own 'perfect' sauce, every Vietnamese mother has her own 'perfect' recipe for Spring Rolls. It's time consuming but worth every minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
OMG - these are called Nime Chow at all the Asian restaurants here in RI and they're one of my absolute favorites! Perfect for a hot summer night. This is a delicious recipe and it's pretty darned close to the recipe from my favorite Thai/Vietnamese/Chinese place...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
perfection on a hot summer day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I don't know if I should credit the original recipe, however I found the SAUCE recipe from one of the reviews and it was a great sauce. 1 part peanut butter to 2 parts hoisin sauce, mix over low heat, thin it out with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I had a hard time getting these on the serving plate because I kept putting them in my mouth instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States