Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I'm Vietnamese so I was impressed when I saw such a great version of one of my favorite dishes. For those of you who are willing to add a bit more effort to make the rolls even that much more "authentic" here are some suggestions: along with the shrimp, add some boiled pork that's thinly sliced. As well as some sprouts, shredded carrot and a long thinly sliced piece of cucumber. And for an easy and excellent peanut dipping sauce, mix 1 part crunchy peanut butter to 2 parts hoisin sauce. Whisk over medium heat until blended, adding a few splashes of water to make the sauce less thick. This sauce truly MAKES the dish! Hope this was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
This was so similar to a cooking class recipe that I lost that I just had to try it. I simplified the recipe by mixing the softened rice noodles with fish sauce (for flavor), and omitting the basil and mint. I added grated fresh carrots to the rolls for extra color and flavor. One of the tips I learned in the cooking class was to layer the ingredients for color and a good presentation. On the bottom end of the softened wrapper, place a leaf of lettuce, cut into two pieces, so that it lies flat. Top with shredded carrots, then rice noodles, then cilantro leaves. Just above this stack of ingredients, lay the split shrimp in a line. By doing this, the shrimp will be visible through the transparent wrapper, when the rolls are served. Diagonally slice off the uneven ends of the roll, and make a diagonal cut through the roll, dividing it into two pieces. By doing this, the beautiful green, orange, and white fillings are displayed. I served my rolls with a peanut dipping sauce. It was very, very good! The next day, I mixed the leftover rice noodles with fish sauce, shredded carrots, cooked shrimp, cilantro, peanut sauce, and chopped lettuce for a tasty and easy cold main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
524 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
These fresh spring rolls are delicious! Don't be intimidated by the rice paper wrappers. Soak them one at a time in warm water until they are JUST soft then remove it to a paper towel and fill. The wrap will continue to soften. By the time you are finished adding the ingredients, it will be ready to roll. If you don't have ALL the ingredients called for in this recipe, please don't let that stop you from using what you do have and enjoying every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Brought this to a neighborhood gathering and simplified it since I only had a few minutes to get it ready. I bought the rice vermicelli and rice wrappers at the local asian store. I also found rib eye very thinly sliced which is usually used for Korean bulgogi. I marinated the beef in the soy and ginger rib eye marinade I also found on this website (I added more soy sauce and red pepper to the original recipe to add a bit of kick to it.) Instead of getting all the different herbs, I grabbed a fancy salad mix with baby spinach, arugula and radicchio. I stirfried the beef, boiled the water for the vermicelli and then saved that same hot water to put the rice wrappers in one by one to soften. These rolls disppeared first off the picnic table - perfect for a warm summer evening. So many people asked me for the recipe and they couldn't believe that I did this all within half an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
So delicious! If unable to find Thai basil, just add more cilantro and mint. Method for softening Rice Paper: alternate between sheets of wet paper towels. Within 3 minutes they will be soft enough to handle but not so soft that they disintegrate. Method for rolling:When rolling, don't start by covering the contents then pulling in. Rather, cover half the contents, then pull in and roll. This makes them firmer, and a lot easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
These rolls were great the same day I made them. They still tasted good the next day, but they started to get a little sticky. If you are serving them to company, make them fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Spring rolls are my absolute favorite Vietnamese food. Apparently, people have different versions of the dipping sauce. In our family (and yes, we're Vietnamese), we make a peanut-hoisin dipping sauce. We NEVER use a fish sauce for spring rolls. In a sauce pan, heat up one can of coconut soda (don't worry if you can't find this, I've subbed a can of 7-up or Sprite with the same result albeit with a slightly different taste), about 3 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter, and about 6 tablespoons of hoisin sauce. Whisk until all the peanut butter melts. Simmer. (Taste it & add more hoisin or peanut butter to suite your tastebuds.) Put a tablespoon of cornstarch into a mug, add water, & mix. Slowly add this to the simmering pot to thicken the sauce to your desired consistency - the sauce should have a consistency like gravy. This will make lots of sauce. Cool before serving. Top with crushed peanuts. In our family, 8 spring rolls does NOT equal 8 servings. Seriously, we each eat 3-4 of these as a meal. So that's enough sauce for everyone (well, sometimes, because some of us like the sauce so much, we practically drink the sauce!) UPDATED NOTE: I made 40 of these today for our party. When we make lots of these, it helps to take all the greens and chop it all up together; then I can grab 1 handful and get all the veggies at once. Also, we use slivered cucumbers - adds an extra crunch. Cucumber slices + peanut-hoisin sauce = heaven! Trust me on that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
These came out so pretty! Unless you have monster prawns, I'd double or triple the shrimp (you need 2-3 per roll of the 20-per-pound shrimp). My grocery store (Kroger) sells rounds of pre-made cocktail shrimp, which made this very easy. Didn't use the lettuce, but varied the herbs and carrots. Suggestions: try not to overload with noodles (and I added soy sauce when cooking those for flavor); you're slicing the shrimp lengthwise; and the tea kettle of hot water worked great to keep the wrapping water hot. I think some of the folks having problems with tearing wrappers may have been leaving the wrapper in the water until it is soft. It really, really only needs to be submerged and pulled out immediately--I promise. It will get softer as it sits. Also, I had better luck wrapping by putting the ingredients in a neat shrimp-down pile off center of the round wrapper. Fold up the two short ends, and tuck their corners into the ingredients (you're looking for a rounded edge, not a square one like in gift wrapping), then use the shorter of the long sides to wrap over the ingredients and the longer one to pull them all together. The fish sauce was great (oh, but that smell); didn't get around to the hoisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This is a really simple recipe. I added grated carrots and bean sprouts and used tofu rather than shrimp. Also, I added a spoonful of peanut butter to the hoisin dipping sauce. Everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Fabulous. Make sure you use Thai basil (also known as Siam basil or licorice basil in some places). It makes all the difference. Everything about this recipe is authentic and delicious. This is my all-time favorite Vietnamese/Thai appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States