Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
tasty, fresh...just like they serve in a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Just like the restaurant, except I need to work on rolling! I made the sauce differently as others recommended - 1/3 cup crunchy peanut butter, 2/3 cup hoisin sauce, 2 cloves garlic, juice of 1 lime and prob. about 1/2 cup of water to thin out. I also added julienne carrot and cucumber as suggested, and didn't use Thai basil, as I didn't want to bother looking for it. I doubled the recipe and the fam gobbled them down. Another great dinner for hot days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great basic recipe. I often incorporate variations like using browned tofu in place of the shrimp or skipping one or two of the herbs if I don't have them on hand and they always come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I live in Hawaii and have eaten these from several different places, so I know what I like and what it should taste like. This was good, I omitted the fish sauce, (too salty), the ingredients, which included, the noodles, lettuce, julienned carrots and japanese cucumbers, a dash of hoisin sauce (or sauce of your liking), topped with a little more noodles. Just remember to put your shrimp, then your mint leaves on top of shrimp first so they look beautiful after you've wrapped them. I made the peanut sauce I got from the food network site. (Peanut dipping sauce needs to be experimented with). Many of the friends that ate it liked it without sauce. Yay!! I did it! Thanks for your recipe, I wasn't sure of the type of wrapper (the name) or the type of rice noodles to use and you took the guesswork out of it. I feel like an expert now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Tastes like what you get at restaurants! Forgot the lettuce and added shredded carrots. Only made hoisin dipping sauce. Took a little practice to assemble but fairly easy once you get the hang of it . FYI rice vermicelli was called cellophane noodles at my grocery store. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I love Vietnamese rolls! I usually use cucumbers as my base instead of vermicelli and have never used basil, but this is delicious. Good sauces too--a nice change from the sweet chili sauce I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
very good. The ones I have had in the restaurant had carrot in them. Next time I will add the carrot...I think it needs both the added crunch against the soft noodle for texture and the color. The wrapper dipping: after the first couple I got the hang of how long to keep it in the water by feel...when the water was hot it was very short but as the water cooled a bit I had to hold it in longer.I also found on the first couple that I had trouble with the rice wrapped sticking when I rolled it,but if I put a bit of water on a plate and put the wrapper on a wet plate while rolling it did not stick and tear the wrapper. On the sauce: overall very good though I personally do not like fish sauce so I subsituted oyster sauce which I personally like all better. My daughter liked them but she does not like cilantro so asked the next time I make them without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Payoff for hunting down the ingredients, for the prep time and effort, was minimal. Sorry to say, the flavors werent very satisfying either; the stuffing seemed too sparse; was my first time working with rice wrappers, but did not turn out as expected. Dissapointed with meal. Happy to know this worked for so many others. Just not my personal cup of tea I suppose. Now off to find other recipes to use up all my leftover ingredients! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
super. I now know how to make something new. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States