Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Never Again! The next time I want to eat these delicious rolls, I will search out a Vietnamese restaurant. It would be easier, take less time and probably cost less in the long run. This is NOT something you can make at home unless you have training. First of all, the rice wrappers cannot be found in most grocery stores, and as there are no Asian food stores in my vicinity, I had to make a trip into New York. I only found one kind of wrapper and while they were rice, they were not 8.5 inches. Working with them, was like working with spider webs dipped in jello. As to the vermicelli...."2 oz."???This is a joke. Rice vermicelli come in a stiff bundle (package size 8 oz.) that like a bale of hay or raffia, cannot be broken easily. Once they are cooked (I had to dump the whole thing into hot water to break them up) it required tongs and scissors to break them up, so the idea of "put a few" on the roll is ridiculous. All in all (not counting time to go into the city to purchase ingrediens) I spent 4 frustrating hours trying to make these. Like I said, DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS AT HOME. Perhaps a video would be helpful, as well as a more realistic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aparri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy to make once you get the hang of working with the wraps. They soften up pretty quickly. Also, these don't keep that well (roll wrap gets hard). So either eat them all right away. Or wrap them in the fridge in a damp paper towel and saran wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These are really good except they needed an additional added crunch, so I addd shredded carrots and julienned sliced cucumber (without seeds). Thai basil is very difficult to find unless you are fortunate enough to live near an Asian market that carries fresh herbs. So I added 1/2 again as much cilantro and touch ore mint. The peanut sauce has much more flavor if you combine and warm together s1 part crunchy peanut butter to 2 part hoisen sauce. These can be made vegetarian as is, or you can add cooked shrimp for a wonderful variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I enjoyed this, and my diet club guests did too. A refreshing treat and a reminder that food that's low in calories can be exciting (Unless you're a strict meat and potatoes person. In that case you probably want to steer away from this.). No reason to not give it 5 stars. Plus, it's a dish that showcases herbs in my garden that can take work but sometimes go ignored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Fantastic! Don't soak the rice paper too long or it rips! Thanks for adding the sauces too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Been making this recipe for years. I leave out the basil and add more cilantro (love cilantro) and have always used napa cabbage instead of lettuce. I mix the napa cabbage with the mint and cilantro before layering. The napa just seems to give them more crunch. They are great appetizers with a Chinese dish and very light and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I absolutely love these! They are easy to make, filling, and refreshing on a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
So easy- so delicious! Tasted like the ones we'd had at our favorite Vietnamese restaurant. Thanks to the reviewer suggestion- the peanut butter / hoisin sauce is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These were so wonderful....the only extra thing I added was chopped water chestnuts...and we also had spring roll plum sauce as an extra choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Fresh and just like a restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States