Vietnamese Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
A couple of things on the fish sauce that my mom taught me as I grew up in the US: 1) the brand of the fish sauce makes a difference, good ones are milder in the "fish" flavor and not as quite as salty; 2) while they last a while, if kept too long, it gets a very strong flavor. Much better when fresh. Unfortunately as a little goes a long way, it usually takes me months to go through half a bottle but mom is right so I usually buy the smallest bottle I can find and keep them for only a month or two. I also cut down on the amount in this recipe to 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very refreshing and delight fot those who love exotic flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foticek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I found this recipe first on the UK site. It's a clean and light salad. I did find the fish sauce flavour a little prominent so next time will only add 2 tablespoons. Great though for people looking for a healthy option salad with a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I made the sauce and truly didn't like it. My husband and I love to eat Vietnamese food, but didn't enjoy the sauce. Maybe it was the brand of fish sauce I bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe! The dressing is delicious - I did reduce the amount of fish sauce & increase the sesame oil however, as a matter of personal taste. That was the only change & I guess some would prefer it with a stronger, salty fish sauce flavour. Better to just play around with it, & taste it before you mix it all in! Lovely recipe, will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
We LOVE this salad. I found a ready-made dipping sauce with fish sauce in it at the Asian market that saved some steps, and it is delicious. Thanks Jia T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was delicious, although I made a few changes to make it healthier. I used only half the peanuts and left out the vegetable oil (replacing it with water). I also used oyster sauce because I couldn't find fish sauce in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I loved this recipe. Have made it a few times now. I also like to make it without the chicken and add in some french/asian green beans (the thin ones), sliced in half. Then it can serve as a lovely side salad to any meat: poached fish, grilled steak, roast chicken... It also can keep longer in the fridge without the chicken and the onions (they don't age very well, get a bit slimy. But all the other veg season well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was a hit with husband AND kids! We loved it! The taste was balanced and a little "zippy" but not too much. Just a pleasant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Delicious! Added quite a bit of fresh mint (chopped)and added some Sriracha to kick up the spiciness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States