Vietnamese Chicken Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This salad is great for a hot summer day here in North Queensland Australia. I did add finely chopped Vietnam mint and fresh mint.Served with spiced chicken and cold steamed rice and yoghurt mayonaise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a good basic recipe. I customized by adding some fish sauce mixed with water, garlic, sugar, olive oil. Everything else in the recipe stays the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
My wife used to make a recipe similar to this which called for tuna instead of chicken. We both liked Vietnamese Chicken Cabbage Salad a lot. It's curiously habit forming, particularly when one is really hungry. My only modification was using extra virgin olive oil instead of regular olive oil. I was generous with the salt and pepper, which makes a big difference in the flavor. Over 50% of the calories are fat calories, but I'm okay with that: 1) the fat calories are "good fat" from the olive oil, and, 2) when paired with other healthy dishes, the fat percentage of the meal will reduce. I recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Great summertime cabbage salad. It does need a little more lemon. Knowing that Vietnamese cuisine uses cilantro (ngo) I chopped some up and added it to the recipe which made it 5 stars. Either way it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This recipe was really quick and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was pretty good. I used one large, juicy lemon but would recommend that you use two. This was crisp and cold and perfect for summer, unfortunately I am currently surrounded by about a foot of snow. Which got me thinking that this would be really good heated up on the stove top for about 5 min. I didn't try that though. This is also nice because you can make it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is wonderful and so easy to make. I used 2 small red onions and added a green pepper. I also had some leftover carrots, so I shredded one with my shredder and added it. My dh said, "it's coleslaw!" LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. A big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Two unions is very over powering! If they were cooked, then added, it would be a great flavor. We had more union on each fork full then anything else! Over all, it was OK, but not great. My husband found it tastes really good heated in the skillet, with some fetta cheese. Or with a scrabbled egg (tastes like an eggroll). I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
It's more of a chicken cole slaw. It wasn't very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

How to Make Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty, tangy chicken salad in three simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States