Vietnamese Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
In response to the one person who classified the traditional ingredients for making this recipe, the anise seeds etc and traditionally used by the Vietnamese. Lemongrass is traditionally used by those of Cambodian and Thai origin which makes just as great a broth. Aside from the lemongrass, you can also add a dried pickled radish found in many Asian specialty stores. These taste really great tender. For added flavor, my family fries a little minced garlic ahead of time until they are golden (takes only a few seconds!) and garnish the pho with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zulema011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This was easy and extreemly tasty. Now that I can make this easily at home, my favorite take-out just got better. I reallly enjoyed the bean sprouts and the fresh herbs. Very refreshing. Make sure to have VERY thinly sliced beef, or it will not be tender. Excellent soup, and great as leftovers as well. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
The Pho' was great! We live in Williamsburg, VA...and there aren't any good places around here to get Pho', so we decided to make our own. Even though we didn't really follow the recipe, our soup came out very well...and now we're HAPPY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
Good overall. The broth definitely needed something more to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
I was trying to find a recipe to make pho that would be as good as the pho shops in Northern Virginia...this recipe brought me a little closer to that goal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
This recipe traditionally calls for the addition of ginger ,anise, and a whole nutmeg. no lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
I tried using homemade broth but it didn't really work too well. I'll have to try again using canned beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2000
Didn't change a thing in the recipe - was a big hit and a nice flavor change from the norm, as well as, very simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States