Vietnamese Beef Pho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is a tasty base recipe. Ingredients are easy to find, preparation is minimal and spices can be adjusted to suit each person's taste. I decreased the broth to 3 Qt, added garlic, a couple anise stars, increased the cinnamon stick (2) and used colored peppercorns. Along with the fresh herbs/vegs's we just seasoned with chili sauce. This soup will be a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is missing the many spices (Star Anise, Cloves, etc.) that makes Pho...Pho. The Lemongrass also throws it off. I've never seen lemongrass introduced in Vietnamese Pho. It might be in some other types of Asian noodle type soup but never in Vietnamese Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Fabulous! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This is a great pho recipe. The only variations I made were leaving out the basil and hoisin because I didn't have any in the fridge. I would definitely recommend putting the beef in the freezer for about 30-40 mins to make it easy to cut really thin slices. This will now become a regular on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. As another user recommended, I found 'pho cubes' at an asian market and use them to make the broth. This makes a huge difference. I also use dried vermicelli noodles instead of rice noodles. I'm not a fan of fish sauce so I omit that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This was really authentic tasting. Great for me bc I live in Eastern Europe where it is impossible to eat good asian food. I did omit the jalapeno peppers and hot pepper sauce. but I added peanuts and had to use ground ginger. great taste and nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
My wife and I, having eaten , many a bowl of Pho' soup found this to be one of the best recipes that we have come across. The taste is quite authentic. And will please even the most pickey Pho' expert's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Although since I've never had it before I can't vouch for the authenticity, everyone /loved/ it. I was very pleased with the effect of the lemon and curly purple (anise flavoured, kind of) basels, they work very well with this. I was a little paranoid about cooking the meat -- it looked really quite uncooked after I poured over the broth, but it really is great that way -- I cheated and put the leftover meat into the broth and it wasn't as good afterwards, so now I know to do it right the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Basically, I have a recommendation for authentic vietnamese pho. Go to your local oriental/world food mart and buy the actual pho broth cubes. Just ask the cashier. They come in small packages of 6. This makes the pho taste authentic, rather than making your own broth or buying american beef broth. Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Voon-da-bar. Darn good Pho. For those of you with difficulty slicing beef thin, try this: Pop your cut of beef into the freezer (suggest you plastic wrap it first)... 10-30 minutes and you'll be dancing - chilly beef makes for easy slicing (be sure to use a sharp knife as well). Bring to room temperature before finishing off in bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

How to Make Pho

See how to make authentic Vietnamese pho.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States