Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My family traditionally made these and called them Kifflings. We roll the dough out to about 1/4 inch thickness and use a small glass to cut the crescent shape. This recipe with the confectioners sugar has a much better consistency than those that use granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Love these cookies. I didn't use the vanilla bean at all, I don't think it was really necessary. I ground up almonds because that is what I had on hand. The dough was a little difficult to work with, it kept crumbling. It was worth the effort because they are so good and with the ends dipped in chocolate they were amazing and so nice looking. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Love this recipe, it's just like my mother made for years growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy B
Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it had great texture and flavor. My husband and kids devouered it all. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very easy to make and very tasty. Takes a little bit to get the size just right. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't use the vanilla beans but it still turned out perfect. I did add a half-teaspoon of anise extract which adds an interesting flavor to the cookies. I found you can use a stand mixer to mix the flour, sugar and nuts to the perfect consistency, no hand mixing required. Another note, there is no need to space these cookies when baking as they are a shortbread and contain no baking soda or powder & won't spread a bit, only puff up slightly. Also, I find letting them cool for a minute is hardly necessary, as the sugar melts into the cookie quite perfectly fresh out of the oven. To the reviewer who complained about the sugar melting into the cookies-this is the intended effect with this kind of cookies as it adds flavor. And if you use a large enough container and a spoon to roll in powdered sugar you can coat several cookies at once. Mine were also dipped/drizzled in chocolate which is a bit tricky with the powdered sugar but looks & tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Peterson
Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made these yesterday and my friends and co-workers told me they loved them! Didn't adjust the recipe in any way. I even have some vanilla sugar leftover for garnishing other things. I'd make these again, and recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Easy to make- has a very strong taste of hazelnuts! This is great if you love them, but some people commented they felt they were bland... I thought they were great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuLuSRQ
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These are wonderful but as with many nutty cookies like this, they can be dry. This is why I took inspiration from one of the posted photos and half dipped mine in chocolate to finish them off. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Amazing, melt in your mouth. I used brazil nuts and they tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States