Vidalia Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Was great! I also used bouillon granules instead of a cube and a little minced garlic in each one...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I almost only made 1 onion, so glad I made 2, or I would have had to fight my husband for it. They were so good! My husband put some provolone cheese on his when it was done, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delightful. Baked in oven at 400° for 1 hr., and upped it to 450° for an extra 15 min. Did two Vidalia onions – 1 w/ butter per recipe and the other w/ balsamic vinegar substituted for the butter as suggested by at least two reviewers. Follow the recipe for a richer tasting dish, and it receives a 5* rating. The one w/ balsamic vinegar gets 4*. I experimented w/ Tiger Sauce on a portion, and next go round may add that in the cored out center w/ a pat of butter. If you like caramelized onions, give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
this is just as delicious as everyone says ... my new low-cal sub for french onion soup! do yourself a huge favor and use a bouillon without MSG (it's the primary ingredient in most commercial brands and eeeeew, who needs a big chemical hit?). I used a wonderful natural beef soup base and savored every delicious bite. in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I tried this, it was easy and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Been making these for about 15 years now, since a friend's father introduced them to me. My wife call's them Randall Onions, after me. We use any type of onions we have on hand. Keep them on the grill for around an hour and they are always a hit, whether we are grilling for just ourselves or for friends. There is never anything left of these. Guess we are not making enough ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Made recipe exactly as stated except used beef base instead of beef bouillon. (some readers stated the bouillon was gritty) Note: 1 tsp of beef base equals one bouillon cube. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made these in the oven and used chicken granulated bouillon because I didn't have any beef. I also added a dash of herbs de provence and used 1/2 tsp butter per onion. Cooking time for me was a lot longer, but that does vary depending on the size of the onion. I know these are some big changes, but the recipe should be just as amazing made the original way! MAKE THIS RECIPE TONIGHT!! GREAT way to eat Vidalia onions, Thanks Kate! (btw my name is Kate too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
WOW What a hit. Served it with Grilled Beef tenderloin from this site. Very good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I found you can use any onion you want.... They are delics!!!!! Can also use chichen instead of beef!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States