Victoria's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I thought this recipe was ok, but lacked flavor. I added about 1/4 cup sliced onion, 1/4 cup chopped pepper, 2 tsp. of white vinegar, and about 1-2 tsp. of dill. Really tasty now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is good! My father makes a similar dish that uses sour cream instead of mayo, and he adds plenty of thinly-sliced onions to it as well. For this particular dish, I really enjoy the addition of halved grape or cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was great. I was worried that the mayonnaise was going to be overpowering, but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 based on the way I prepared it. I peel the cucumber, cut it lenghtwise, and scoop out the seeds. I then place them in a strainer with the sliced onions and sprinkle it with about a tablespoon of salt and mix it all together. Let it sit and drain for about an hour. After that, mix in the mayo and season with pepper and garlic powder. Tastes like summer in a bowl!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was excellent!! I added onions to this, and used miracle whip. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I used all the ingredients but didn't follow the amount exactly. I also added vinegar like most others were saying, and added ranch dressing. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
soak the cucumbers in salt water for an hour to get rid of the bitter bite that often comes with cucumbers. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
i make this often only i use plain yogurt and a little mayo, and a touch of lemon juice, and some dill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Much better with onions sliced thin and only adding vinegar, salt and pepper. But I bet the sugar would be a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This salad was a great side dish for sunday night dinner. I served it with some more spicy pork and it was a great way to cool everything down. I thought the proportions for every thing except the salt were just right. I would use less salt next time and i think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States