Victoria's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I did not care for this salad as written, but I liked the simple ingredients. Cut the pepper WAY down and the garlic powder WAY up. The salt and mayo proportions seemed fine. Everyone's taste is different, but I was even afraid to switch the pepper and garlic proportions, thinking it was mistyped. Just make to your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
My husband loves this recipe and says it is even better then what his Oma made when he was growing up. Follow the ingredients listed but alter the amounts according to your own taste buds (we prefer more garlic and less pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Very good...especially the next day. I used less pepper as suggested, but my boyfriend added more at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I used all the ingredients but didn't follow the amount exactly. I also added vinegar like most others were saying, and added ranch dressing. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was excellent!! I added onions to this, and used miracle whip. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I was just looking for something to do with the extra cucumbers from the garden, and this was perfect, and a little different. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was great. I was worried that the mayonnaise was going to be overpowering, but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Used a touch of powdered ranch dressing mix and added one small very thinly sliced red onion. Let it sit at least an hour, and make sure to peel the cukes if you want a truly creamy cucumber salad (I didn't the first time, but I will next time!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 based on the way I prepared it. I peel the cucumber, cut it lenghtwise, and scoop out the seeds. I then place them in a strainer with the sliced onions and sprinkle it with about a tablespoon of salt and mix it all together. Let it sit and drain for about an hour. After that, mix in the mayo and season with pepper and garlic powder. Tastes like summer in a bowl!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is good! My father makes a similar dish that uses sour cream instead of mayo, and he adds plenty of thinly-sliced onions to it as well. For this particular dish, I really enjoy the addition of halved grape or cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States