Victoria's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I did not care for this salad as written, but I liked the simple ingredients. Cut the pepper WAY down and the garlic powder WAY up. The salt and mayo proportions seemed fine. Everyone's taste is different, but I was even afraid to switch the pepper and garlic proportions, thinking it was mistyped. Just make to your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. The mayo was a nice twist, as I would normally opt for sour cream. I've made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly as written, the second time I used white vingear in place of the mayo, although I used only 1/4 cup. Vinegar and cucumbers seem to compliment each other perfectly, and with the addition of the salt, pepper and garlic powder, well...it was just yum! I'll be making this recipe again...both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Used a touch of powdered ranch dressing mix and added one small very thinly sliced red onion. Let it sit at least an hour, and make sure to peel the cukes if you want a truly creamy cucumber salad (I didn't the first time, but I will next time!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I didn't have enough mayonaise, so I used light ranch dressing and seasoned pepper. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Kluttig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackenzie, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Much better with onions sliced thin and only adding vinegar, salt and pepper. But I bet the sugar would be a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
My husband loves this recipe and says it is even better then what his Oma made when he was growing up. Follow the ingredients listed but alter the amounts according to your own taste buds (we prefer more garlic and less pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Yummy, Probably would be a little better with vinegar, but still pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This salad was a great side dish for sunday night dinner. I served it with some more spicy pork and it was a great way to cool everything down. I thought the proportions for every thing except the salt were just right. I would use less salt next time and i think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I'm giving this a 4 based on the way I prepared it. I peel the cucumber, cut it lenghtwise, and scoop out the seeds. I then place them in a strainer with the sliced onions and sprinkle it with about a tablespoon of salt and mix it all together. Let it sit and drain for about an hour. After that, mix in the mayo and season with pepper and garlic powder. Tastes like summer in a bowl!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
soak the cucumbers in salt water for an hour to get rid of the bitter bite that often comes with cucumbers. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States