Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this cake for the international festival and I cant cook or bake to save my life but this cake actually came out great! out of all the dishes there this one was the talk of the room and everyone enjoyed it. Granted it did take extra time to bake compared to how much time the recipe requires and it did get a little difficult when the top started to slide a little. Overall, adding strawberries in the middle and whipped cream with a circular design of strawberries sliced on top made it look very professional. It is an easy cake to bake even for someone like myself and its very tasty and I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I am sorry this is not a good recipe for Victoria Sponge. The consistency is correct but it is much to greasy and tastes of nothing but butter. I lived in Ireland and this is a popular sponge there. I wouldn't serve this to anyone familiar with a true Victoria Sponge.Sorry, I hate leaving bad ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishlass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is a good recipe for a butter type cake (nice and rich), but I would not call it a spongecake. A true spongecake is made without butter and very, very light. A typical English treat usually filled with jam and topped with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was my first victoria cake ...It turned out wonderful..only thing is i used 1/4 quarter cup of butter..used the same measurement for other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this for my fiance the other night and was received well! Easy to make and it tastes good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This cake was absolutely delicious. I layered it with whipped cream and strawberries for a classic treat. The flavour was just right and texture deliciously moist. Makes a perfect Victoria Sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
made this with gluten free flour and it was totally yummy, i also put jam and butter icing in the middle and lemony butter icing on the top, it went down very very well with the family thats for sure! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissyj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
excellent,my first attempt at making a sponge and it was so light and delicious the whole family couldnt believe id made it.brilliant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Didn't rise and needs more sugar. I had to make a very sweet sauce to save this "sponge cake" and with the poor outcome I'm going to pass on this recipe all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
A very delicious sponge cake substitute for those of us who do not feel like they have time or eggs to use 6 separated eggs in a recipe, which is what most real sponge cakes call for. I followed the recipe except used only 1/2 the amount of butter, as in 1 stick instead of 1 cup, which seemed excessive when I first read the recipe. I am wondering if there was a typo and she meant to say 1 stick. It is very good for the purpose for which I used it: strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States