Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
very greasy cake. will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA
Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I made this cake for the international festival and I cant cook or bake to save my life but this cake actually came out great! out of all the dishes there this one was the talk of the room and everyone enjoyed it. Granted it did take extra time to bake compared to how much time the recipe requires and it did get a little difficult when the top started to slide a little. Overall, adding strawberries in the middle and whipped cream with a circular design of strawberries sliced on top made it look very professional. It is an easy cake to bake even for someone like myself and its very tasty and I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Baking time is definitely not enough..when i skewered it after 20 mins, skewer came out covered and then the cake collapsed and went flat (due to hole made by skewer). Baking time needed: at least 30 mins at 200 Degs Celcius. Was really disappointed. One good thing: the cake turned out quite yummy despite being flat and slightly burnt on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very heavy cake that needs a sauce. I made a blueberry & blackberry sauce. It was good, but not something you'd make often. Don't know if I'll make again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This came out so oily and tasteless. I really didn't like it took an extra 15min. to bake. When i served it no one finished it. I definiately won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was a wonderful cake. My fiancee hates icing-full cakes, and this was perfect for his birthday. Put some strawberry sauce on top, and he wanted more and more. It just went very flat, after I took it from the oven, though. Perhaps more time next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I like this cake, although it's heavier than a traditional sponge. Instead of cream or jam, etc, I brushed some melted butter on top and sprinkled on a mixture of cinnamon and sugar. A lovely cake to have with tea or coffee. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'd never made Victoria Sponge before, but this was seriously easy to make. I sliced it horizonally and filled the centre with M & S strawberry jam and real whipped cream. My English friend declared it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
do'nt know what I did wrong, but it would not cook! 45 mins...still uncooked in centre, lovely taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is an ok cake. It didn't rise any when I made it (granted I was in Denmark so the altitude may have had something). It also really needs the jam inside otherwise it is a bland boring cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambert, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States