Victoria Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and half of it stuck to the bottom of the pan despite the parchment paper I used and it was so greasy inside and heavy. I have no idea what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Really bad I'm sorry but this wasn't sponge cake it was way to floury and was way to chewy sorry but not at all what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Needs way more sugar. It was quite bland. Also I substituted 1 cup butter with .5 cup butter and .5 cup margarine, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was my first victoria cake ...It turned out wonderful..only thing is i used 1/4 quarter cup of butter..used the same measurement for other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I turned this recipe into strawberry shortcake and added strawberry puree to the batter to give it more of a pink color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
good, but way too much butter. prbably 3/4 of even half the amount would be enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I am sorry this is not a good recipe for Victoria Sponge. The consistency is correct but it is much to greasy and tastes of nothing but butter. I lived in Ireland and this is a popular sponge there. I wouldn't serve this to anyone familiar with a true Victoria Sponge.Sorry, I hate leaving bad ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishlass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I give this 3 stars for a few reasons. 1 - I wouldn't really consider this a "sponge" cake...2 - as others have said, the cooking time is not quite enough, it does take longer...and 3 - even though there are some issues, it is a very easy cake to make, it has a wonderful flavor and texture, and it can be dressed up in so many ways with powdered sugar, whipped cream, fresh fruit, compote...or any combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. It should contain equal parts of butter sugar and flour. 225g of butter is way too much - tried it and wasted all the ingredients on a greasy mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States