Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
The best Hush Puppy recipe I've ever made!!! I grated a Vidalia onion & let it sit a little while to get a good onion juice going. I halved the sugar since I like my cornbread equally sweet/savory & I added 1T. Cajun Seasoning + 1-pkg. Green Onion, chopped. Fried PERFECT with a cookie scooper to make balls and my boys LOVED them! No Milk Needed here, that's a 1st for me! You HAV E to try these ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was the first hushpuppy recipe I've tried and there is no reason to look for another. They turned out perfect! I grated my onion and it added just the right amount of liquid to keep the batter from being too dry. I also added a tsp or so of garlic powder for a little extra flavor. These disappeared quickly at our family fish fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Halved the recipe except the onion because it was only me & my husband.Made 10 good size hush puppies & they were wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Way too much sugar. I'd recommend leaving the sugar out entirely or cutting it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Tokumei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Perfect though everyone in the house was in agreement. Nix the sugar lol. Never made hush puppies before so this was a perfect starter recipe. They browned beautifully. 5 Stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Kutner
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I just made the recipe and it is absolutely delicious. I added two celery sticks finally chopped and a half a cup of sweet creamed corn and some garlic powder, black pepper and salt to taste and it turned out amazing. I'll be making these later for our Labor Day party and I'm sure they will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Kutner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic!!!! I wouldn't change anything. It is the perfect combination of sweet and salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very good base recipe. I changed around a few things like many here. I half the recipe and added 1/2 c sweet corn. Plus I mixed separately the dry ingredients (sifted), then beat 1 egg with a little buttermilk. Did not use self-rising flour and cornmeal. Just added baking powder to the regular stuff. Make sure to add salt, pepper and seasoning for taste. Good start. May play with it a little more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The batter called out in this recipe is too dry, I had to add milk. I didn't have onion, so I used green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States