Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Barnsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
really good taste...but way to dry...i did add less sugar and added the milk and still way to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry esselborn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe is very good, but I did add 1/4 cup of milk, because the batter was WAY too thick. Also since I didn't have self rising flour or corn meal, I added 2 tip baking powder, and they rose beautifully. Another adjustment I had to make was to fry them in just 1" of oil, turning them to cook evenly. Even with all my meddling, this was a great recipe and will be used many more times. Thanks, Vickie C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I made this at our Soup Kitchen for 160 people, and they loved it. I added corn to them also. They were a big hit!!! Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Whitehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Very good! We added a little corn and diced jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
These are little heavenly puffs! I served them with a Cajun Jambalaya recipe and it was the perfect compliment. I did use fresh green onions to give it that fleck of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
These were okay as a base of sorts. I did need to add milk - as written, it was not even close to wet enough. I didn't put nearly as much sugar, and also put a sprinkle of salt, cayenne pepper, and some minced garlic. Next time, I will add more salt. If prepared as written, it's kind of bland. Some seasonings will go a long way to making these some delicious hush puppies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
delicious and easy. did it as-is, but added 1 tablespoon of baking powder, since I didn't have self-rising stuff (rule of thumb: 1 1/2 teaspoons of bp per cup of flour. Count the cornmeal as flour, since this recipe called for the self-rising version of both. so 2 cups=1 1/2t x 2=3t=1T ). I also added fresh corn, and used just a touch of the corn liquid to make the batter just the teeniest bit wetter. make them smaller than you think you should, as they puff up a lot. great texture, just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I will definitely add some milk next time, because they were a little dry. They were also a touch too sweet, but otherwise tasted really good. Super easy to make too! With a little tweaking, I think this could be a 5 star recipe (for me personally, others may love it exactly how it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I did not add as much sugar I only added 1/4 cup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States