Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!! However, I have to say that I am surprised by the mixed reviews. Some found it too dry, others too sweet, others too bland... Well, here's what I did: I halved the recipe since I only needed a small batch. I did NOT cut the sugar. And HERE'S A TIP: Think about how you like your cornbread- not sweet, moderately sweet, or Southern sweet. I am from SC, and I like mine nice n sweet, so that's why I didn't cut the sugar. But if you don't like sweet cornbread, adjust the sugar accordingly. Also, I grated a whole onion (even though, when halved, the recipe calls for 1/2 onion). Grating allows you to get tiny pieces of onion AND the onion "juice." With the onion juice, I didn't have to add any milk or buttermilk. I just mixed thoroughly. Also, since I DIDN'T HAVE ANY SELF-RISING FLOUR, I added 1/2t baking powder to the batter, and also 1t salt (remember, I halved the recipe). These didn't last long with my 1 and 3 year old. Okay, fine, I had more than my fair share, too! Awesome recipe! 5 stars any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
532 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These were really good. I did not have any self-rising flour, so I just used all cornmeal. I cut the recipe in half since it is only my husband and I. I also only added in 1tbs of sugar because I knew that anymore would make it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisapalermo
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These are awesome. I tried another recipe on this site and was very disappointed. I had to try another recipe since I still had the taste for hush puppies. I took suggestions from others and cut the amount of sugar down to 1/4 cup, added garlic powder, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. I also added a can of creamed corn and the batter was perfect, no milk needed. Let the batter sit for 10 minutes before frying. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapalermo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I grew up in the South and these were just like the ones we had in the old days. I made half the batter like the recipe and then updated the other half with minced Jalepeno, fresh corn, some salt and cayenne. My family preferred the more updated version but the ate everything they could get their hands on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Excellent! I found that it was nessesary to add a 1/4 cup of milk to the mixture, as others had suggested. My husband said this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I used this recipe for the church fish fry and everyone raved over the hush puppies and ask for the recipe. I enlarged the batch to serve 50. Don't be fooled into adding extra liquid it will work up, use your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
THESE WERE GREAT! I’m in CA and our homesick friend from Georgia told us to make these. I gave it 4 stars because I added a few things. Added about 1 tsp Chili Powder, 2 tsp Garlic powder& 1 tsp Onion powder with more milk as other suggested. I used regular flour and cornmeal but added 1 tsp of baking powder (not sure if it changed anything) My picky Fiancé even ate them (he says he's allergic to onions :) and our friend from Georgia said they were almost as good as his mom’s :) We dipped these in tarter sauce and served w/ Fried Catfish YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Bane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I have made this about 6 times since May, each with rave reviews. My aunt was always the hush puppy queen in the family, and my husband didn't care for mine. Now he and my aunt wants to know what I've changed. THIS IS MY SECRET! I do add buttermilk to the recipe and they are just fabulous. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I did not use the onion since my 6 year old will not eat anything with an onion in it, so I used onion powder (pretty sneaky, huh!)garlic powder and cayene pepper. I had to use some buttermilk to get the correct consistency. It was very dry when I mixed it up. However, it was a good hush puppy and I plan to make them again. Thanks Vicki for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
These were a little dry, I added milk. I also removed the sugar, for I don't like my hushpuppies sweet. I didn't really care for these, I guess I have to keep searching for an "unsweet" hush puppy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States