Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
A lil dry, but delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Without the addition of 1/2 cup of milk, the mixture is like breadcrumbs; no amount of mixing could bring the dry ingredients and the beaten eggs together. I kept thinking I read the recipe wrong! The flavor and texture after adding the milk was quite perfect, as far as I am concerned. I would strongly recommend adding some milk to bring the batter together. I found the batter impossible to incorporate without milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Price

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Perfect Hush Puppy recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These was ok, but next time i make i will use all cornmeal because i like the taste, the flour gave it a cake-like taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
These were SUPER dry. I added about 1/2 cup of milk, some corn & butter extract flavoring. After all of that, they finally came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Just popped one of these babies in my mouth. Delicious! They are a little sweet, but I'm from the South and we like it that way! Didn't have but one egg, so I added a splash of milk to wet the batter a little more. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
These were absolutely awesome! We made a batch last night altering the ingredients just a tad as I had to use dried onion instead of fresh and we decided to add bacon, because EVERYTHING is better with bacon, and while we were at it, added some minced garlic. The result was a heaping plateful of hushpuppies that were devoured in no time. Thank you for the super simple, but delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I used a little bit of every ones suggestions. I added creamed corn and Old Bay Seasoning. Everyone enjoyed them and I wish I would have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are the best hushpuppies I have ever had! We followed the recipe completely and loved the final result. They even reheated great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Yummy great with Golden Catfish nuggets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States