Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! This recipe is now my go to recipe for hushpuppies! You can add any seasonings to change to the taste if you like sweet hushpuppies or spicy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I halved the recipe. I didn't have self rising flour so I added 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt. I minced the onion and added a dash of cayenne pepper. Follow the recipe and it came out fantastic. This was the taste that I was craving because to be honest, some hush puppies are terrible. Btw, my daughter loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written & they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Not bad. I used red onions instead of white onions, and they gave the hushpuppies a little bite. However, they needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good and moist. I used 1 c. Marie Callender's already premixed corn meal instead of regular corn meal. Added 1/2 can of corn, a tad Tabasco, and some premixed seasoning. Fried in canola oil on med hi heat till dark brown so the inside is done. Came out great. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
its almost perfect. added about 1/4 cup of milk and garlic salt. took out sugar for personal preference. delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
my family of 10 loved these!! The kids thought they were fun to eat! We had them with smoked salmon. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roaming Shores, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
A lil dry, but delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Without the addition of 1/2 cup of milk, the mixture is like breadcrumbs; no amount of mixing could bring the dry ingredients and the beaten eggs together. I kept thinking I read the recipe wrong! The flavor and texture after adding the milk was quite perfect, as far as I am concerned. I would strongly recommend adding some milk to bring the batter together. I found the batter impossible to incorporate without milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor Price

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Perfect Hush Puppy recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States