Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
these were WONDERFUL! my husband loved them and he doesn't eat them from anywhere. i did add more onion (for extra flavor) and milk like everyone else suggested. Best hush-puppies recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were awesome! They were a hit with with the whole family and friends as well. Didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Excellent! For more flavor, instead of dicing I grated 1/2 of an onion and 2 cloves of garlic to the batter. I also added diced jalapenos, 1/2c corn and 1/4c of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Made this as written and it was a bit too sweet. Next time I will decrease sugar to 1/4 cup. Added a chopped jalapeno and some garlic salt and flavor was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
These were great. I am from the South and the hush puppies were just as I like them! Not greasy at all and a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is my "go to" recipe for hushpuppies. I rated it shortly after I started using it but want to throw in that I started using two green onions chopped up and it adds just that little extra. You can cut down on some of the other onion if you want. The green color also adds to the presentation. Little bits of green onion. Yummy. If I could give this a 10, I would. Oh, and also, Not to sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
love these - I use 2 cups corn bread mix and no wheat flour for gluten free wonderful with fresh caught fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Recipe MUST be missing a liquid ingredient! Since I was trying it out, I halved the recipe and added 1/4 c. milk. The result was a decent flavor but very dry puppy. The family ate them so overall, OK but I will continue to look for a more moist puppy recipe. Perhaps buttermilk & more than 1/4 c. of it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
My husband loves hushpuppies, but every time I've tried to make them they've been terrible...until tonight. I cut the recipe in half and followed it almost as written; I didn't have self-rising flour, so I added 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda to AP flour and added some spices. The batter was too dry, so I added a little bit of buttermilk. It took me a little practice...the first ones I made got way too brown before the insides had cooked, so I reduced the temperature of the oil a little and made the spoonfuls smaller...and PERFECTION! My husband was in hog-heaven and even though I've never been a huge hushpuppy fan, I have to admit these were really good. As other reviewers have said, these are rather sweet, so add your sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
If you do the recipe exactly as it tells you, with the cornmeal...it's not as good as it could be. The first time I made this recipe, I didn't have cornmeal, so I used instant corn masa flour. When I used instant corn masa flour, the hush puppies were amazing and I had a couple family members try them and they said that they were the best hush puppies that they had ever had. They were more floury and sweet. The last time I did them, I used cornmeal. I was extremely disappointed. These hush puppies were pretty average restaurant type ones (I hated them), you couldn't taste the onion because the cornmeal was overpowering, they weren't soft or floury. If you change the recipe, it'd be a five for me, but since the recipe calls for cornmeal, it honestly ruins the hush puppies as well as this review. My advice is to switch out the cornmeal for corn masa flour if you like sweeter hush puppies where you can taste the onions and they aren't so dry. Also, when I cooked the hush puppies the first time (with corn masa flour) they were easy to fry, not too sticky or hard to handle. The cornmeal ones were incredibly difficult to fry because they were a sticky mess. I see reviews over and over on it being too sweet, I live in the South everything needs to be sweet from our tea to our hush puppies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States