Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was WAY too sweet for me. That's my only complaint. Cut the sugar WAY back unless you like your cornbread SUPER sweet. It was super EZ and fried up great in my fry granpappy. I will use this as my "base" for some experimentation. For comparison, I put 2 T sugar in about my cornbread which is 1-1/2 cup total (corn meal + flour). Proportionally, this recipe is about 4x's too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I am not a huge fan of fried foods so I don’t have a lot of experience making them. I do however love catfish (caught and cooked by others) and needed to bring something for a fish fry over the weekend. A few ideas crossed my mind but I settled on hush puppies and am so glad I came across Vicki’s recipe. These were wonderful and totally made me appear to be a frying pro! For anyone who may be a little apprehensive… 1.) NOT dry – putting the onions (and a jalapeno and few heads of garlic) thru the food processor released moisture which added to the batter. Grating would have the same effect. 2.) Sugar quantity is to your liking – I only used ¼ cup and felt that was perfect for us 3.) Spice it up (or not) I added garlic and a jalapeno, garlic salt and Tonys seasoning. If I were making for just my family I would have added cayenne and a lot more jalapenos 4.) Go ahead, make the batter in advance – this worried me the most since the batter didn’t hit the fryer until 2 hours after making it. 5.) No worries at the fryer! Once they were browned on the outside the inside was perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
these were WONDERFUL! my husband loved them and he doesn't eat them from anywhere. i did add more onion (for extra flavor) and milk like everyone else suggested. Best hush-puppies recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were awesome! They were a hit with with the whole family and friends as well. Didn't make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Excellent! For more flavor, instead of dicing I grated 1/2 of an onion and 2 cloves of garlic to the batter. I also added diced jalapenos, 1/2c corn and 1/4c of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Made this as written and it was a bit too sweet. Next time I will decrease sugar to 1/4 cup. Added a chopped jalapeno and some garlic salt and flavor was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
These were great. I am from the South and the hush puppies were just as I like them! Not greasy at all and a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is my "go to" recipe for hushpuppies. I rated it shortly after I started using it but want to throw in that I started using two green onions chopped up and it adds just that little extra. You can cut down on some of the other onion if you want. The green color also adds to the presentation. Little bits of green onion. Yummy. If I could give this a 10, I would. Oh, and also, Not to sweet at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
love these - I use 2 cups corn bread mix and no wheat flour for gluten free wonderful with fresh caught fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Recipe MUST be missing a liquid ingredient! Since I was trying it out, I halved the recipe and added 1/4 c. milk. The result was a decent flavor but very dry puppy. The family ate them so overall, OK but I will continue to look for a more moist puppy recipe. Perhaps buttermilk & more than 1/4 c. of it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States