Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Fantastic!!!! I wouldn't change anything. It is the perfect combination of sweet and salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very good base recipe. I changed around a few things like many here. I half the recipe and added 1/2 c sweet corn. Plus I mixed separately the dry ingredients (sifted), then beat 1 egg with a little buttermilk. Did not use self-rising flour and cornmeal. Just added baking powder to the regular stuff. Make sure to add salt, pepper and seasoning for taste. Good start. May play with it a little more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The batter called out in this recipe is too dry, I had to add milk. I didn't have onion, so I used green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Two eggs wasn't enough moisture to hold mixture together, I had to had milk and then they turned out very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed these. My kids did not which surprised me since they were extremely sweet. If I were making them again, I would decrease the sugar slightly and add a little extra onion. Overall, I would highly recommend them. They are one of the better hush puppies I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
MY HUSBAND LOVED IT!! I would use 1/4 C sugar instead of 1/2 c though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
OK This was my first attempt making Hush puppies I thought these were good!! Not as fluffy and moist as I would have liked But im almost positive it wasnt the recipe it was something I did lol. These have great flavor! Next time i want to try adding some old bay seasoning!I will try this recipe again to see if they turn out a little fluffier and not so dense.Over all a good recipe and very very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
One of the best recipes I've gotten from this site, honestly. It was 100% perfection. These hush puppies were the best I've ever had! Even my hubby said they were better than the ones at Red Lobster (and he LOVES that place)! I did, however, make two small changes. I used onion powder instead of onions (don't like onions) and I only used a 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 (I don't like my hush puppies THAT sweet, plus it makes it a smidgen healthier). Anyway, love love love these! Already planning to make them again next week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States