Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Halved the recipe and only used about a tablespoon of sugar. I did have to add a little milk and grated the onion as others suggested. Turned out perfect! Just like my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
These were great. Texture was perfect and they fried up nicely. My recommendations: add 2 tablespoons buttermilk, 1 Tbs cayenne pepper, lots of garlic salt, and do NOT cut out the sugar as some other reviews suggested. I would also suggest using half white onion and half green onion. I think that will give these some more variation in the flavor (and color).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
These are delicious! I followed DivineHealth7's advice and grated the onion. The onion juice added the right amount of liquid, and I didn't need any milk. I don't buy self-rising flour or cornmeal so I added 1 tsp of salt, and 1 TB of baking powder. I mixed the dry and wet ingredients separately before combining everything. I let batter rest while the oil was heating, and used a small portion scoop to drop the batter into the oil. I like sweet cornbread, and found these to be just right. Thanks, Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
this recipe was a little to sweet for my liking. if I were to try it again I would cut back on the sugar and add salt and pepper to the mix. I also had to add an extra egg because the mixture didn't quiet hold together how it should've. I think if you aren't use to having hush puppies a certain way then this is an alright recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Too dense and too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Storm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
These were delicious. They had just the right amount of sugar and actually reminded me of the hush puppies served at one of my favorite seafood restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Thought the hush puppies were way too sweet. The texture was okay but they tasted like onion doughnuts... May be better with less or no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
From all the times I've tried to make hush puppies, these were the first that everyone has really liked. I did use my food processor and chopped the onions fine - someone mentioned about grating the onions so there's more juice, but the food processor works great too! I also use the Whilte Lily Self-rising flour and the White Lily Buttermilk Cornbread mix, which probably makes them on the lighter side. This is a keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I just got a deep fryer and haven't eaten theses in years. This was so good. I did add a 3rd egg and used corn bread mix in place of the corn meal since I didn't have cornmeal. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Easy & delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States