Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The best hush puppies I have ever had! I made them gluten free but other than that made the recipe as is. I have people ask for the recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Oh.my.goodness! How yummy are these?! This recipe is phenomenal and my whole family really enjoyed their "puppies"! Thank you so much; will def. make again. Only change was that I needed three eggs instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
would make a awesome corn dog batter, way too sweet,not enough spice, and doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I really loved this recipe...I halfed the recipe and it made about 9 hushpuppies and I added jalapenos (diced very small) and added about 1/5 of milk and it was delicious!!! Next time I will probably add about 1/2 of egg to this halfed recipe and a whole egg for the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Easy, simple ingredients, & so fast to prepare and cook. Thank you for sharing this with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Amazing! Crispy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. And the flavor is out of this world. I even made my own self-rising flour. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I only give this four stars simply because there wasn't much flavor. I love the recipe and will definitely try it again...maybe add some corn niblets or cheese or jalepenos. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I did need to add about 1/4 C milk - it was WAY too dry the way it is written (did anyone successfully make it without any added liquid?). I also had no self rising corn flour or flour, so I added 1t of baking soda. I also used a shake of salt, and some pepper. With those changes made - this recipe was great! Next time I am planning on sneaking a cube of pepper jack cheese inside each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
this is very close to my rcipe but I had a little buttermilk,celery seed and salt and pepper and they will be awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
They were very good, but did have to add some milk to hold them together while cooking. I also didn't have self rising flour, so I added a bit of baking soda and powder and they came out great.. My step son, who is very picky with food, loved them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Higgins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States