Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Better than any restaraunt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Mmm mmm mmm! I was hunting around for a major food comfort recipe and stumbled upon these. I thought making hush puppies would be such a daunting task so have never tried before, but these were SO easy to prepare. I only made quarter of the recipe since it was just for me and I scaled all ingredients except for sugar (I used about 1/4c?) since I wanted them somewhat sweet. I also grated the onion as I thought I would prefer the texture that way, and added just a droplet of milk at the end since the batter seemed a bit dry. This recipe seems to be pretty forgiving since I was measuring very lazily. I was in and out of the kitchen in 15 minutes easily. YUM-MY, these were delicious and did just the trick I will be making these again and again (yum!). Thanks Vicki C :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletHaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
this is such an easy an awesome recipe for hush puppies. i rated this 4 stars because i thought the mixture was too dry. i added about 1/4 cup of buttermilk. the end result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie limina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
As other reviewers suggested I had to add some milk because the batter was very dry. I used a little less sugar. This recipe make A LOT so next time I will half the recipe! The flavor was good but I think they could use some seasonings in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I would add some finely chopped green pepper and a small quantity of Jalepeno's also finely chopped, maybe 3-5 tbsp depending on full or partial recipe used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renfrow Fred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I rolled these guys like cookies to keep them pretty. My only problem was that they are incredibly dense. I like my puppies a little fluffier. Over all pretty tasty, although my husband requested more spice next time. :o) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettysoldier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I needed a base recipe since I lost the one I fell in love with so long ago..This recipe, as stated, made more than I needed and were dry and sweet but still a little bland. (Will be perfect if you're feeding several though.) I tweaked it the second time by adding green onions instead of white and little less than a 1/4 cup of milk (I aimed for a very thick gravy consistency) salt and pepper, reduced the sugar to only 1tbsp and adding 1/2tsp garlic powder and a pinch of cream of mustard powder (the only ingredients I was sure was in the old recipe.) Turned out awesome this go round! However, if you prefer them sweet rather than savory, keep the sugar. Thanks Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by driveme04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was my first time making hush puppies. I remember them as a child and how yummy they were. I have never found them as tasty in restaurants and many don't carry them. I thought I'd give this recipe a try. They were okay. I made a double batch so I added 3 eggs and 3/4 cup of whole milk. Definitely need the liquid. I added the onions, but next time, I will keep them out and sprinkle powdered sugar on top when they are done. I may also melt some butter and include that as part of the liquid. I do think this is a good base recipe, but it needs some work and definitely more liquid than 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
They were good but very dry, couldn't get all the ingredients mixed together because the mix was so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were easy and great. I made a few changes, just to suit my taste, but I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODAYSUNLIGHT96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States