Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Absolutely DELISH! Only my second time ever making hushpuppies from scratch, and these were much better than the first recipe I tried. The sweetness makes for an adventurous meal when combined with something strong such as fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
i THINK A PROBLEM SOME PEOPLE ARE USING UNSWEETENED OFF-BRAND, I USED JIFFY CORN MUFFIN MIX AND THE RECOMMENDED SUGAR AMOUNT. THEY TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. MY FIANCE SAID IT WAS THE BEST THING THAT THEY EVER TASTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punes9091

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
no good, too much sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These were delicious but I'm not sure how anyone could make them without adding milk or buttermilk....I never would have been able to mix mine up without some more liquid! I added about 1/3 of a cup of buttermilk and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I had to add more milk and used onion power instead of onions. I also cut back on the sugar to about 1/3 cup. Perfect! Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
If you're looking to make hush puppies, this is the recipe to use. I used all-purpose flour and added a half teaspoon of baking soda. I also added a splash of milk and a 1/4 tsp of pepper to the batter. Both me and my husband said, "Tastes like a hush puppy" which I suppose is the reaction we would want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
The most amazing hushpuppies I have ever had. Add a little milk and red pepper flakes to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I added salt, pepper, and garlic salt based on other reviews. The taste was great but they were too dense. I will also mince the onions next time for a more even texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The best hush puppies I have ever had! I made them gluten free but other than that made the recipe as is. I have people ask for the recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Oh.my.goodness! How yummy are these?! This recipe is phenomenal and my whole family really enjoyed their "puppies"! Thank you so much; will def. make again. Only change was that I needed three eggs instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States