Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe is very good, but I did add 1/4 cup of milk, because the batter was WAY too thick. Also since I didn't have self rising flour or corn meal, I added 2 tip baking powder, and they rose beautifully. Another adjustment I had to make was to fry them in just 1" of oil, turning them to cook evenly. Even with all my meddling, this was a great recipe and will be used many more times. Thanks, Vickie C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I made this at our Soup Kitchen for 160 people, and they loved it. I added corn to them also. They were a big hit!!! Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Whitehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This is a fairly typical recipe for hush puppies. When I was a kid in the 1950's my aunt would make up a large batch of hush puppies. We had them along with the breaded fried Brim we had caught that day, grits, and collard greens boiled with bacon and sprinkled with vinegar. However, my aunt always included finely chopped green pepper in the batter. Give it a try as it adds to the flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Very good! We added a little corn and diced jalapeños.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
These are little heavenly puffs! I served them with a Cajun Jambalaya recipe and it was the perfect compliment. I did use fresh green onions to give it that fleck of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
These were okay as a base of sorts. I did need to add milk - as written, it was not even close to wet enough. I didn't put nearly as much sugar, and also put a sprinkle of salt, cayenne pepper, and some minced garlic. Next time, I will add more salt. If prepared as written, it's kind of bland. Some seasonings will go a long way to making these some delicious hush puppies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
delicious and easy. did it as-is, but added 1 tablespoon of baking powder, since I didn't have self-rising stuff (rule of thumb: 1 1/2 teaspoons of bp per cup of flour. Count the cornmeal as flour, since this recipe called for the self-rising version of both. so 2 cups=1 1/2t x 2=3t=1T ). I also added fresh corn, and used just a touch of the corn liquid to make the batter just the teeniest bit wetter. make them smaller than you think you should, as they puff up a lot. great texture, just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I will definitely add some milk next time, because they were a little dry. They were also a touch too sweet, but otherwise tasted really good. Super easy to make too! With a little tweaking, I think this could be a 5 star recipe (for me personally, others may love it exactly how it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Absolutely delicious! I did not add as much sugar I only added 1/4 cup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Halved the recipe and only used about a tablespoon of sugar. I did have to add a little milk and grated the onion as others suggested. Turned out perfect! Just like my mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States