Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My 'batter' came out so dry that I kept running back to the computer to make sure I hadn't done something horribly wrong. It was like a big bowl of breadcrumbs! Maybe y'all's eggs are bigger than mine? I ended up adding a bit of milk & that sorted it out. Once the batter crisis was over, though, they were truly wonderful. My family loved them and gobbled them all up, even my picky two-year old. Next time, I'll try grating the onion as other reviewers have mentioned and see if the onion juice helps combat the dryness I ran into today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie.mccoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good,very easy,I only added a Tbs.milk so it would drop easily into the oil.Thank-you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nussa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sag Harbor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I didn't have self rising flour, so I added 1.25 tsp of baking powder, and 1/2 tsp. of salt. I used regular yellow cornmeal. And I grated a small onion instead of dicing it. The batter did appear dry, so I worked it with my hands and formed the balls that way. The dough was delightfully soft and moist. I didn't change the sugar or anything, and there was no need to add extra seasonings. My family said these were the best hush puppies they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Oh Yea!! I've been making these for years and friends who said they don't like hush puppies LOVE THESE! I do add about a teaspoon of milk but the onions do the job keeping them moist. Excellent - every single batch! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Deeeeelish!!! I did add milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Delicious! This recipe is now my go to recipe for hushpuppies! You can add any seasonings to change to the taste if you like sweet hushpuppies or spicy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I halved the recipe. I didn't have self rising flour so I added 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt. I minced the onion and added a dash of cayenne pepper. Follow the recipe and it came out fantastic. This was the taste that I was craving because to be honest, some hush puppies are terrible. Btw, my daughter loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as written & they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Not bad. I used red onions instead of white onions, and they gave the hushpuppies a little bite. However, they needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States