Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made as stated except I added 2% milk, without the milk would have been impossible to make. Also made in a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I didn't care for it. I followed directions exactly. They were too sweet for my taste and a bit on the dry side. I may try again but doctor the recipe by cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni F Tate Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe but added a little garlic salt and Cajun seasoning, and onion juice. Used 1/4 of an onion instead a whole onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I, like so many others, have tried many Hush Puppie recipes,but this one is the last I will ever try...it was excellent!!! I read over the other reviews and made similar changes for my preferences. I used 1/2 the sugar, used green onions and added some buttermilk to get the proper consistency. I made a 1/2 recipe, well then made the other 1/2 because my Dad and I ate the first batch waiting for our dinner guest :) Needless to say my Dad, who is from NC, and our dinner guest, who is a Hush Puppie lover, really enjoyed them!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Not enough liquid in this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was a big hit. I added 1/3 cup of buttermilk, but I am not sure I really needed it. I will use this one over and over. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My husband liked but they are too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
These complimented the red grouper we caught off Clearwater Beach yesterday. I did add a little milk in order to form the hush puppies before frying. Perfect for a southern style fish fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trinity, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was WAY too sweet for me. That's my only complaint. Cut the sugar WAY back unless you like your cornbread SUPER sweet. It was super EZ and fried up great in my fry granpappy. I will use this as my "base" for some experimentation. For comparison, I put 2 T sugar in about my cornbread which is 1-1/2 cup total (corn meal + flour). Proportionally, this recipe is about 4x's too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I am not a huge fan of fried foods so I don’t have a lot of experience making them. I do however love catfish (caught and cooked by others) and needed to bring something for a fish fry over the weekend. A few ideas crossed my mind but I settled on hush puppies and am so glad I came across Vicki’s recipe. These were wonderful and totally made me appear to be a frying pro! For anyone who may be a little apprehensive… 1.) NOT dry – putting the onions (and a jalapeno and few heads of garlic) thru the food processor released moisture which added to the batter. Grating would have the same effect. 2.) Sugar quantity is to your liking – I only used ¼ cup and felt that was perfect for us 3.) Spice it up (or not) I added garlic and a jalapeno, garlic salt and Tonys seasoning. If I were making for just my family I would have added cayenne and a lot more jalapenos 4.) Go ahead, make the batter in advance – this worried me the most since the batter didn’t hit the fryer until 2 hours after making it. 5.) No worries at the fryer! Once they were browned on the outside the inside was perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States