Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed these. My kids did not which surprised me since they were extremely sweet. If I were making them again, I would decrease the sugar slightly and add a little extra onion. Overall, I would highly recommend them. They are one of the better hush puppies I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
MY HUSBAND LOVED IT!! I would use 1/4 C sugar instead of 1/2 c though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
OK This was my first attempt making Hush puppies I thought these were good!! Not as fluffy and moist as I would have liked But im almost positive it wasnt the recipe it was something I did lol. These have great flavor! Next time i want to try adding some old bay seasoning!I will try this recipe again to see if they turn out a little fluffier and not so dense.Over all a good recipe and very very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
One of the best recipes I've gotten from this site, honestly. It was 100% perfection. These hush puppies were the best I've ever had! Even my hubby said they were better than the ones at Red Lobster (and he LOVES that place)! I did, however, make two small changes. I used onion powder instead of onions (don't like onions) and I only used a 1/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 (I don't like my hush puppies THAT sweet, plus it makes it a smidgen healthier). Anyway, love love love these! Already planning to make them again next week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Thinking that cutting down to 1/4 cup of sugar would be even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I am rating this recipe as written. The mixture was so dry that the mixing bowl was just filled with a mess of crumbles. Yes, I then added milk to create "a different recipe", but THIS is recipe did not work for me and will not be going into my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made as stated except I added 2% milk, without the milk would have been impossible to make. Also made in a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I didn't care for it. I followed directions exactly. They were too sweet for my taste and a bit on the dry side. I may try again but doctor the recipe by cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni F Tate Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe but added a little garlic salt and Cajun seasoning, and onion juice. Used 1/4 of an onion instead a whole onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States