Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I am rating this recipe as written. The mixture was so dry that the mixing bowl was just filled with a mess of crumbles. Yes, I then added milk to create "a different recipe", but THIS is recipe did not work for me and will not be going into my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made as stated except I added 2% milk, without the milk would have been impossible to make. Also made in a deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I didn't care for it. I followed directions exactly. They were too sweet for my taste and a bit on the dry side. I may try again but doctor the recipe by cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe but added a little garlic salt and Cajun seasoning, and onion juice. Used 1/4 of an onion instead a whole onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I, like so many others, have tried many Hush Puppie recipes,but this one is the last I will ever try...it was excellent!!! I read over the other reviews and made similar changes for my preferences. I used 1/2 the sugar, used green onions and added some buttermilk to get the proper consistency. I made a 1/2 recipe, well then made the other 1/2 because my Dad and I ate the first batch waiting for our dinner guest :) Needless to say my Dad, who is from NC, and our dinner guest, who is a Hush Puppie lover, really enjoyed them!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Not enough liquid in this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was a big hit. I added 1/3 cup of buttermilk, but I am not sure I really needed it. I will use this one over and over. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My husband liked but they are too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
These complimented the red grouper we caught off Clearwater Beach yesterday. I did add a little milk in order to form the hush puppies before frying. Perfect for a southern style fish fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trinity, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was WAY too sweet for me. That's my only complaint. Cut the sugar WAY back unless you like your cornbread SUPER sweet. It was super EZ and fried up great in my fry granpappy. I will use this as my "base" for some experimentation. For comparison, I put 2 T sugar in about my cornbread which is 1-1/2 cup total (corn meal + flour). Proportionally, this recipe is about 4x's too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States