Vicki's Hush Puppies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Had a fish fry tonight. Followed recipe exactly. Everyone loved the hush puppies. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
We added a little garlic and parsley and they were awesome. Better than any place selling fish and hush puppies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
By far the best Hush Puppies I've ever had. I made them gluten free by subbing the flour for chick pea flour and 1 tbsp of baking powder (to make it self rising).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
great recipe. easy and spot on directions. i did add 2 tbs milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Freaking delicious! Added a tiny bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamsey Melissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a fish fry I had a few weeks ago, my family loved them. The kids said they were better than the well known seafood chain in our area. I did add several dashes of Tabasco which helped balance out the sweetness. Absolutely loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anaa31

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I,m a hushpuppie fanatic ,these where way too dry and sweet.I prefer the southern recipes over the sweet ( I assume ) northern sweet recipe. But gave it a try cause I like to experiment. With that being said, I had to thin out this recipe with milk in order to make it the proper consistency. It would have been nothing more than a fried bisquit otherwise. Second, even with that, it was too dry after frying and too sweet for my tastes. Suggest eliminating the sugar, add onion salt 1/2 tsp. and 1 tsp salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lharv01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Although many reviewers feel that these are too sweet, I disagree. I like the sweetness but still think that they need "more.' Canned corn, Old Bay, garlic powder, pepper, salt, jalapeños, etc. Also,per other reviews, I added a couple of tablespoons of milk and let the mixture sit for a couple of minutes to thicken. With these changes, I think that the hush puppies are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Wow!!! Mind bendingly fantastic. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
After making these tonight, I'm saving the recipe. I've never made hush puppies a little sweet before - but these were so good! My husband said I should use this one as my go-to recipe from now on. Thanks, Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States