Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Best beer bread I have had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I'm giving the recipe 5 stars even though I think I may have chosen the wrong beer. I used the Sam Adams blackberry wheat beer and drank one as it baked. When I tried a slice just now it kind of freaked me out to taste the same thing in both solid and liquid form. I'm not sure how I feel about the way the blackberry flavor stays in the bread, an orangey beer like shock top may have been a better choice. The recipe is VERY simple, though, and I'm glad to have found something so cool/cheap/easy to make. I sifted my flour, FYI. And I used salted butter instead of margarine. Anyway I can't wait to try this with a stout or porter. I think I know what will happen to the leftover St. Patrick's Day Guinness in my apartment. I'll bet the chocolate/coffee taste of that beer will be totally different from this one. - an update. I made it with some dark, chocolate-tasting ale (Dos Perros, from a brewery in TN?) and a bit of cinnamon. It was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyScherbatsky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is so very delicious! I added some cheddar cheese and fresh basil pesto. The butter makes it, next time I am going to make it in muffin tins, so everybody gets a lot of buttery crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was disappointed in this recipe. I too was looking for a recipe to replace the expensive, but yummy Tastefully Simple mix that we love and always get rave reviews about. I followed this recipe to a 'T.' and it turned out very dry and tastless, even with taking it out of the oven a tiny bit early. Might do some research on "tweeks" and try again. Others seem to like. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
So very good. I got this recipe from a friend and his recipe calls for 1 cup of sugar. I am surprised this one has so little in the recipe. I can't say I would decrease the sugar... it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fantastic! Cheap version of Tastefully Simple beer bread. Have made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Good texture and great for a first try of making from scratch. (I LOVED Trader Joe's beer bread mix which they have discontinued). I didn't have self-rising so I added 1 1/2 tsp salt and 4 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also added 1 tsp garlic powder but it was still lacking in flavor a bit-- will add a little something else next time. Will definitely make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I make this just as the recipe states about 50% of the time. My family loves this and whenever I make it there is never any left after dinner. Have also added a large handful of grated cheese, roasted garlic, fresh herbs or whatever else is on hand and the family loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Awesome!!!! Absolutely quick and easy!!:))) YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I have used this recipe on numerous occasions and everyone loved it. The only change i made was, I used a Pottery bowl, in which I make. Instead of preheating your oven, like in the recipe, When using a pottery bowl ,You place the it in a "COLD" oven. By using this type of pottery bowl makes the bread more old timey so to speak. Thank you for the wonderful recipe, I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States