Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Excellent! My husband and I both love to cook and therefore are pretty critical- I did look at the other reviews and added a bit more of sugar. I also included a pinch of paprika, dried parsley, garlic powder and about a 1/4 cup of parmesean cheese. Also, I used about 1/2 the amount of butter. We served it with vegetable beef stew and it was great. Thank you for this keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is a great bread for beginners. I forgot to take the beer out of the fridge, but it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This had an interesting flavor, and it definitely gets points for being very easy. Never had beer bread before, so not sure if I would make it again, as we didn't particularly love it. I used my beer straight from the fridge and it still came out fine. Made my own self-rising flour. I thought it might benefit from the addition of some cheese or other add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
i asked my cousin to make this today,(thanks alana x.) i cant tell you how delicious this is! i loved it, so simple and so few ingredients for a lovely bread. thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I tried beer bread once before and was hooked, and this recipe worked very well and tasted amazing. Try experimenting with different types of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Delicious bread. Crunchy on the outside, firm and tender on the inside. I make this for breakfast as a lowfat replacement for biscuits. It's great with butter and/or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
The difference between this beer bread and the Beer Bread I, is the margarine/butter poured on top before baking. And it makes all the difference in the world. This bread is much better and has a much bettter crumb to it. Sometimes I add Italian herbs and garlic powder. If you have problems with the margarine/butter overflowing into your oven just make a slit down the center of the bread, before pouring it on. It helps control the direction of the melted margarine/butter and helps for more even distribution too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
So, I haven't finished this recipe yet, but it just started my new oven (this is the second time I'm using it.)on fire when the the bread rose and pushed the melted margarine onto the heating element. A couple shakes of baking soda fixed the problem, so if I can collect myself, I will proceed with an old cookie sheet under the pan to catch the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This bread was good, basic. It was a little greasy when I first took it out of the oven, probably because of the butter, but after it cooled a bit I liked it a lot better. I wasn't paying attention and put butter on top instead of margarine the first time I made it. Then the second time I used margarine like the recipe calls for and actually preferred it the other way. Made two loaves and 45 minutes was just perfect. Will deffinately make it again, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This tasted very good although it made a mess out of my oven. The bread rose so much it pushed all the melted butter out of the stone. Will try using less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States