Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Great recipe!!!! I used Jack's Pumpkin Spiced Ale and had to substitute white sugar for Splenda since my mother in law came over for dinner and is a diabetic. It still turned out great and was yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Family hated it. I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Certainly not as good as I had hoped it would be. Came out chewy and very crusty. An extremely dense bread. Not one of my "keepers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
EXCELLENT! I used Yuengling Lager and this bread came out tasting fantastic! Smells great and easy to make. I followed some others' suggestions and doubled the amount of sugar, and it tastes great, but I made it as a side for lasagne and sweet bread just didn't seem to match well, so I guess it just depends on what you're making it for. Next time, if I'm making this to accompany a red sauce dish again, I'll keep the reccommended amount of sugar and add some garlic and cheese instead. I did like the sweet bread for breakfast with some butter. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
nice and moist- not crumbly. A little bitter- so next time I will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This is my son's favorite treat. I originally found it in my grandmother journal which was lost in a previous move. So glad I can make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Jeff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Tasty and easy. Next time I would add some sort of seasoning (e.g., Italian seasoning, garlic powder, cheddar) to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this bread exactly as the recipe said and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This recipe is amazing - who knew that you could make bread with only 3 ingredients? and in about 3 minutes?Fantastic! This recipe is extremely adaptable. I've made it twice now, each time adding grated cheese and garlic and onion powder. The second time I added a bunch of dried herbs (rosemary, basil, oregano, thyme) and it was sensational! Next time I might try adding spanish chorizo. I love the crunchy/chewy crust that it forms! I have used both self-raising and plain flour + baking powder and room-temperature and cold beer and each combination worked out fine. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missfick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a winner in our household. So easy and so so tasty. We love to thick slice the bread and pop it in the toaster and then smother in butter. OH MY, MY MOUTH IS WATERING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States