Vickie's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
How easy was that? Turned out great with a heavy Porter for flavor. Am going to make again and add spices while using a lighter beer to accompany pasta. I did take other reviewers advice and use three cups all purpose flour and 4.5tsp baking powder. I had salted butter so left out extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Wonderful recipe that results in a thick, dense, very satisfying beer bread. I used a Leinie's Sunset Wheat and the flavor of the beer came through beautifully without being overpowering. I am looking forward to using highly hopped, flavorful beers - specifically Three Floyds' Alpha King seems like it would make an interesting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was a really good recipe. I followed it to the t and it made a good, moist beer bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
So good! I did not have self rise flour so I followed others suggestions and used 3 c flour, 4 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt. My husband loved it! And I used a German Pilsner. Will definitely make again, frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I was looking for a recipe similar to Wind and Willow beer bread. This was pretty close but the texture was not quite there. I added a cup of sugar since i like a sweeter bread. Looking forward working with the texture and trying different beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
this bread is the easiest! really quick as promised, minimum fuss, you needn't even dirty your hand with flour. And my kids were enthusiastic. I used plain flour and baking powder, and a blonde mild beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
No more Tastefully Simple mixes for me! I can make more than 12 loaves of this recipe for the price of one mix. My family loves this, I've shared it with friends, and we're having some tonight to accompany a winter stew. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is a wonderful and easy and quick bread to make for dinner. Goes well with zesty soups and stews. My family is a 'big bread with dinner eating family', so this is nice when ya don't feel like making biscuits, cornbread, or yeast bread/rolls. You can zest it up too by adding different spices/seasonings. Just let it cool slightly before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Yummy!! If you want to make it even easier - use Bisquick. Just add 1/4 C to 1/2 cup sugar depending on how sweet you want it. I usually bake mine in muffin tins and pair it up with chicken corn chowder or vegetable soup. Oh yeah....I've found that good old Bud (not light) gives it the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States